Because I Said So - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Because I Said So Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Francesca Rudkin
New Zealand Herald
September 1, 2007
A veteran of classic films such as Annie Hall and The Godfather, Diane Keaton should have known better than to sign up for this kind of light and fluffy schmaltz, even if the director promised she would look great in her underwear.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Joshua Starnes
January 7, 2011
Because I Said So seems like it's supposed to be a paean of sorts to motherhood and the enduring love that entails, a love so strong that it inevitably drives its possessor somewhat batty. But what it is, is muddled crap.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Jason Zingale
February 3, 2007
Whatever you do, don't go see this movie. Why? Because I said so.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
Tyler Hanley
Palo Alto Weekly
February 2, 2007
Ultimately, even a vivacious Diane Keaton can't make a familiar film feel fresh -- no matter how hard she tries.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Nell Minow
December 9, 2014
This movie manages to be offensive and yet dull and predictable, as phony as a Kate Spade sidewalk knock-off bag and as unoriginal as the ready-for VH1 soundtrack.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
February 1, 2007
The whole movie feels pushy.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
February 2, 2007
As almost everyone knows by now, the early part of the year has become a dumping ground for dreadful movies. Still, Because I Said So constitutes unusually toxic waste.
Ted Murphy
Murphy's Movie Reviews
February 2, 2007
BECAUSE I SAID SO is undone by its uneven screenplay
Full Review | Original Score: C
John P. McCarthy
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
February 10, 2007
On screen or in real life, meddling moms don't get more neurotically ebullient than Diane Keaton's dessert maven in the regrettable 'Because I Said So.'
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
February 1, 2007
Avoid the movie so you won't waste 90 minutes of your life on an unfunny, derivative mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Michael A. Smith
Nolan's Pop Culture Review
January 31, 2007
...appears to have been made from the parts of other films...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Fernando F. Croce
August 28, 2009
Like steel pins poking through the eyes
James Rocchi
March 2, 2007
I don't think anyone actually wrote Because I Said So; I think that some Hollywood artificial intelligence think-tank instead fed DVD box sets of The Gilmore Girls and Sex and the City into a computer, along with Pottery Barn catalogs for roughage. ...
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
February 2, 2007
My motherly advice is: Skip it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Tom Meek
Boston Phoenix
April 23, 2009
The ensuing cycle of miscommunication is endless and trying.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Tony Macklin
Fayetteville Free Weekly
February 2, 2009
There are chick flicks and upchuck flicks. The movie Because I Said So is an upchuck chick flick.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.0/5
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
February 20, 2007
I hated this movie. I think it's the worst performance of Diane Keaton's career.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
February 1, 2007
Diane Keaton deserves so much better.
| Original Score: 1/4
George Palathingal
Sydney Morning Herald
May 4, 2007
It's a lame duck of a film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Kam Williams
February 6, 2007
Fairly annoying from start to finish, primarily because Keaton is still relying on that ever less-endearing assortment of addlepated antics which won her an Academy Award for Annie Hall back in 1978.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Page 1 of 8