Because I Said So - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Because I Said So Reviews

February 20, 2007
I hated this movie. I think it's the worst performance of Diane Keaton's career.
February 10, 2007
Everyone here is a caricature, and the gaps are papered over with hyperactive shtick. I haven't seen so many cakes dropped or smashed since I Love Lucy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/6
February 6, 2007
If you don't expect too much of it, you may find yourself pleasantly -- all right, soothingly -- surprised by it.
February 3, 2007
Recycling every cliche in the rom-com handbook, it's clear from the very first that Lehmann has sacrificed his characters on the altar of sappy endings. What a waste -- for everybody.
February 2, 2007
As almost everyone knows by now, the early part of the year has become a dumping ground for dreadful movies. Still, Because I Said So constitutes unusually toxic waste.
February 2, 2007
It's so derivative, unfunny and thuddingly bad that it's one of the more cringe-inducing movies of a genre chock-full of clunkers.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 2, 2007
Diane Keaton has a lot to answer for in her willingness to portray Hollywood's idea of middle-aged womanhood.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 2, 2007
Spark? Romance? Wit? Nope, sorry.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 2, 2007
Bette Davis and Joan Crawford, when they reached a certain age, played harridans and ax murderers. Diane Keaton has started playing mothers, but, alas, the effect is about the same: She's scary. Very scary.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 2, 2007
Keaton is a national treasure, always worth the visit even when, as is the case of Because I Said So, her movie isn't.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
February 2, 2007
There's a charming bonhomie among the sisters, and there are cute touches to the romances.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
February 2, 2007
Any relationship between the world of Because I Said So and actual human behavior is purely coincidental.
Read More | Original Score: C
February 2, 2007
The jokes are crude and repetitious.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 2, 2007
Call it a hunch, but I don't think you're going to see a clip from the appalling romantic comedy Because I Said So at this spring's Diane Keaton tribute at Lincoln Center.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
February 2, 2007
As a member of their generation, and one who considered them among the best actresses of Hollywood's most probing era, I am both cheered and alarmed by the recent spectacles Jane Fonda, Susan Sarandon and Diane Keaton have made of themselves.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 2, 2007
The search for true love is the backbone of romantic comedy as well as the lifeblood of match.com, but this film's clumsy, completely inauthentic portrayal of it is handled in a shockingly tedious fashion.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 2, 2007
My motherly advice is: Skip it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 2, 2007
The result is a 105-minute cringe-a-thon that reduces the Katharine Hepburn of her generation to a sitcom harpy presiding over a brood of Valley Girl chicks.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
February 2, 2007
There are lots of cakes involved in the film, and each time one shows up you know it's likely to be thrown, fallen on, dropped or pressed into someone's face.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
February 2, 2007
What makes this seem sad instead of simply silly is the way Keaton throws herself into this slop.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
February 2, 2007
The cake that lands in Keaton's face isn't the only confection that turns up in this movie about the romantic life of a caterer, but there's nothing genuinely sweet about it.
Read More | Original Score: B+
February 2, 2007
I am about to issue a declaration that amounts to blasphemy among many film critics, fashionistas and women of a certain age: I am so over Diane Keaton.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 2, 2007
Keaton is almost unwatchable in embarrassing scenes that involve an over-the-top car chase and a computer with a mind of its own.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 2, 2007
Because I Said So exasperates because even its best intentions are phony.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
February 2, 2007
An exercise in canned cuteness.
February 2, 2007
Because I Said So is an exercise in deliberate mediocrity, with chuckles and heartwarming moments distributed as carefully as nuts in a factory-made brownie.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
February 1, 2007
If these are the only kinds of roles we can conceive for actresses who have grown into their faces, as Keaton has, it's no wonder so many younger performers are seeking the knife.
February 1, 2007
A depressing example of what passes for a 'woman's picture' in a not exactly woman-friendly media era.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
February 1, 2007
The whole movie feels pushy.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 1, 2007
Wince-inducing.
Full Review | Original Score: D
February 1, 2007
What the filmmakers try to play for laughs isn't funny, it's creepy.
February 1, 2007
A shallow rom-com that's not just eager but frantic to please.
February 1, 2007
The best moments aren't belly laughs (there are a couple of those, too) but the jokes that ring uncomfortably true.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
February 1, 2007
Because I Said So is a movie about people we don't like doing things no one would ever do.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
February 1, 2007
The only thing you can't fault in Because I Said So is Keaton's integrity, as she commits herself completely to a disastrous role.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
February 1, 2007
Speaking as a longtime Keaton fan, it's hard watching her go through this overbearing mother phase.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
February 1, 2007
Because I Said So is a work of comic desperation, and an especially cruel betrayal of Keaton, who looks radiant in her 60s yet keeps finding herself cast in roles that use her age as the foundation for cut-rate slapstick.
February 1, 2007
Throughout most of her career Diane Keaton has shown sound instincts, so it's a mystery why she failed to sniff this false, brittle comedy out as a waste of her gifts.
February 1, 2007
Keaton may well be the only actress in Hollywood who could play this character without making her despicable or treacly.
Read More | Original Score: C+
January 31, 2007
The screenplay for Because I Said So may be short on invention but it is large on heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 31, 2007
Everything about Because I Said So screams out generic chick flick -- and we do mean scream, literally -- from the forgettable title to the excruciatingly corny ending.
January 31, 2007
The entire project seems like a diabolical conspiracy to destroy one of the few icons we've got left, but luckily that's where it fails most of all.
January 31, 2007
An unbelievable mess.
Full Review | Original Score: D+