Avant que j'Oublie (Before I Forget) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Avant que j'Oublie (Before I Forget) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
April 21, 2009
Made on a modest budget this is a brave film from writer-director-star Jacques Nolot who brings an unflinching honesty to his performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 17, 2009
Writer-director-actor Jacques Nolot (below) delivers a bold, searching and open-hearted turn as the subject of this confessional study of life as an elderly gay gent in the French capital.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/6
April 17, 2009
A sombre description of age and regret delivered with a deceptively light touch. Wry, tender, full of sympathy and wonderfully acted by Jacques Nolot.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 17, 2009
Tortuously slow but unexpectedly charming.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 17, 2009
Before I Forget turns out to be pretty watchable, if sobering, with a fine eye for the absurdities its situations generate.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 17, 2009
It's a subdued, somewhat melancholic Paris to be sure, but one whose potential loneliness is softened by the intriguing support networks the characters improvise.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 17, 2009
Geriatrically paced but genuinely compassionate, Before I Forget introduces a world of ageing bodies, fading libidos and lives spent in thrall to fleeting pleasures.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 17, 2009
Any film that boasts two jokes about Roland Barthes and one scene - surreal, deadpan, inspired - of superannuated cross-dressing will take its place, for some, near the front of the must-see queue.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 17, 2009
A quietly contemplative film about a man looking back on his life, this funny and heartbreaking film features several surprising twists that make it well worth a look.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 2, 2008
an intense character study
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 4, 2008
The visuals are stunning, as is the use of music...unforgettable.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 4, 2008
[Jacques] Nolot, in his actor's hat, creates a melancholy, often-sad character that I grew to have a great deal of empathy for.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
August 1, 2008
Before I Forget is a film one can admire, but it is not 'likable,' per se, nor does its director wish it to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 18, 2008
[A] strikingly different and oddly funny French drama about a 60-year-old former hustler-turned-writer whose later years aren't exactly golden.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 18, 2008
Before I Forget is, in the broad sense, 'gay-themed'. But it's also one of the loveliest, most direct and most devastating pictures about aging that I've ever seen.
July 18, 2008
Not a lot of ground is covered, but that might just be the point. The end of days are near, and the film is the interim itself, watching a man wind down ever so slowly while trying for a few last gasps to stave it off.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 18, 2008
An unblinking portrait of a complicated, solitary gay man who has outlived his working years.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 17, 2008
It's a simple-looking film with a complicated center. But there's a kind of sadness in the film that remains untapped, perhaps because Pierre himself isn't ready for it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 17, 2008
It's hardly a rosy picture of what it's like to be gay and 60 in Paris. But it's an engrossing picture.
Read More | Original Score: B-
Page 1 of 2