Avant que j'Oublie (Before I Forget) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Avant que j'Oublie (Before I Forget) Reviews

November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
April 17, 2009
Writer-director-actor Jacques Nolot (below) delivers a bold, searching and open-hearted turn as the subject of this confessional study of life as an elderly gay gent in the French capital.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/6
August 1, 2008
Before I Forget is a film one can admire, but it is not 'likable,' per se, nor does its director wish it to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 18, 2008
Before I Forget is, in the broad sense, 'gay-themed'. But it's also one of the loveliest, most direct and most devastating pictures about aging that I've ever seen.
July 18, 2008
An unblinking portrait of a complicated, solitary gay man who has outlived his working years.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 17, 2008
It's hardly a rosy picture of what it's like to be gay and 60 in Paris. But it's an engrossing picture.
Read More | Original Score: B-
July 14, 2008
The film doesn't feel like a tragedy, but instead a droll slice of life -- perhaps a bit too muted and overlong, but often compelling in its own way.
May 24, 2007
Third installment in Jacques Nolot's trilogy on the pragmatic side of gay life finds the straight-shooting poet of matter-of-fact sexual transactions in fine narrative form, exhibiting his aging body and mindset without a trace of vanity.