Before Sunrise Reviews

Page 1 of 3
September 7, 2011
Top Critic
July 10, 2004
June 18, 2002
January 1, 2000
January 1, 2000
January 27, 1995
March 13, 2019
The films have always been about the marvels and limitations of impersonation, since behind Jesse and Céline we see Hawke and Delpy, celebrities whose stars were bright already in the first film and have intensified, owing partly to this series...
March 4, 2017
Masterworks of contemporary American cinema, Richard Linklater's The Before Trilogy receive stunning 2K transfers and a comprehensive compilation of bonus materials from Criterion.
April 20, 2015
There's a vulnerable undercurrent beneath this film, one that beats and throbs with the stolen looks, brief touches and romantic under-the-stars kisses.
July 22, 2013
Undoubtedly one of the most romantic movies of all time...
May 28, 2013
...a bittersweet celebration of romantic frisson - the notion that our most precious moments of connection are often the fleeting ones.
May 28, 2013
Two strangers quickly fall in love, discuss big ideas.
April 8, 2013
Linklater captures romance at the sunset of gadget-free existence ... holy moments when no gadget or lens comes between us and our immediate company and surroundings.
September 10, 2012
The combination of optimism, tragedy, and the fuzzy warmth of new love is absolutely flawless.
July 22, 2012
This realistic romance is intelligent, open-hearted and hopeful; the best work of, for and by youth.
January 17, 2010
the film asks us to consider the very nature and purpose of our existence in a fragmentary, superficial and transient universe.
August 16, 2009
Linklater hasn't just crafted a detached portrait of a unique couple: he's painting a masterful examination of human nature, of that relationship we all want, but too often sadly see slip away.
April 29, 2009
A thought-provoking, likable, entertaining, beautiful, and well-acted piece of romance...
February 9, 2007
Acting tour de force that feels exceptionally real
September 29, 2006
Page 1 of 3