Being Julia - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Being Julia Reviews

Page 1 of 7
October 29, 2004
I liked the movie in its own way, while it was cheerfully chugging along, but the ending let me down.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 14, 2004
Being Julia is one of the most uneven affairs I have watched in a theater this year. It's like two movies that have been inelegantly grafted together.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 3, 2005
Benning ... brings this constantly disguised vixen to ferocious, flamboyant life.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 9, 2004
A minor affair.
September 23, 2004
If A Room with a View looked inside the repressed passions of its characters, Being Julia seems content to just put a frame around them and call it a day.
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 23, 2005
Watching Being Julia is like seeing a racehorse with an impeccable bloodline trudging across the finish line with the rest of the pack instead of out in front of it
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 12, 2004
Annette Bening can act but she works too hard to prove it in Being Julia.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 14, 2004
There isn't much about István Szabó's direction that he can brag about, and Ronald Harwood's script retains too much of Maugham's plot and not enough of his coherence.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 15, 2004
Movies don't get much more inoffensively middlebrow than Being Julia.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 21, 2004
The play is supposed to serve as both the centerpiece and the climax of the film, which may explain why it wobbles until the end.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 5, 2004
Does nothing to restore Szabo's good name, but it does a good deal to enhance our appreciation of Bening.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 9, 2004
Though Being Julia is an undeniably lush and expensive-looking production, the film never manages to step beyond the realm of over-the-top campiness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 13, 2005
While much of Being Julia's appeal stems from no one being as fabulous as [Julia] is, the lack of a worthy sparring partner diminishes the fun.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 18, 2004
(T)he relationship (between Julia and Tom) is beyond belief...(T)he film is terminally slow. It would take less time to read Maugham's novella than to watch this film
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
November 18, 2004
While I'm glad that Annette Bening gets a juicy role in István Szabó's Being Julia, I don't find her character sympathetic or charismatic whatsoever.
October 15, 2004
Everything is in place for a tour de force film. Yet the end result is so lackluster and pedestrian, a more fitting title is Being and Nothingness.
December 16, 2004
Being Julia is strangely devoid of the one thing every great film needs: a hook.
| Original Score: 2/4
January 9, 2005
Smeared by a very childish ending ... But there is that Bening performance to savor.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
November 18, 2004
Thanks to Bening, we're already rooting for Julia to prevail in all her glorious bitchiness. Why should we have to like her, too?
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 5, 2005
The film desires to be a biting statement on the stage and real drama. It's misguided script fails to do either.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 7