Below - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Below Reviews

Page 1 of 21
½ December 4, 2016
FOUND MYSELF SPLAYING MY FINGERS ACROSS MY EYES A LOT.

It has some really spooky scenes, and it just feels as if your drowning inside the submarine itself. A horror flick that keeps you satisfyingly scared without the use of jump-scare techniques that's all the craze nowadays. But I must say the shift from almost purely psychological tension with a dash of the creeps to full-on malediction creep-show towards the end was slightly awkward (The shift was so sharp and kind of out-there, signaled by Claire assaulting you with the notion that the ship was HAUNT---, that i almost giggled due to the abruptness of the idea if only I was not preoccupied with being scared). But if you're willing to overlook that, this movie will surely be a good watch.
½ October 17, 2016
A slow-paced ghost story set on a sub in WW2. Subs are naturally claustrophobic and scary, so this seems an ideal fit, but they're also quite linear, which means that you can't really not know what direction trouble's coming from. They're also crowded, another downside for a horror film, a genre that relies strongly on isolation to create scares. These aren't impossible hurdles to overcome (again, being in a metal tube thousands of feet beneath the water is scary by itself) but they do require a different approach to a typical horror film. This film doesn't really provide that. Instead it just cuts out those bits that don't work in a sub and replaces them with nothing much really.
½ May 27, 2016
A great combination of ghost story and naval movie.Creepy with a thunderous ending.
Super Reviewer
May 1, 2016
Twohy does a great job (mainly in the first hour) to slowly build an absorbing mystery in this claustrophobic mix of horror and war movie (like Das Boot meets The Shining), even if later on it is weakened by stupid plot holes and a silly attempt to sound profound in the end.
April 26, 2016
Not a bad movie by all means, Below uses the claustrophobic setting to build the tension beetween all the leads, and does it well. Slow paced in some sections and leaves some big question after the credits roll with some faults filling the plot that have some holes in it.
April 25, 2016
very great movie highly recommended
½ March 29, 2016
Below, at its heart is a war movie, focusing on a crew in a submarine in hostel waters. Small things that happen bring a little supernatural flair to the plot but it is never enough to really scare you or bring much suspense. The cast that makes up the crew is fun to see interact and it all leads up to a fulfilling conclusion. Most of the film takes place inside cramped quarters and occasionally they venture out into the ocean which was a nice segment that mixed things up. Once you figure out the "twist" and the whole reason for everything it ends up being rather underwhelming. With this movie being labeled a sci-fi thriller I was expecting more then what it provided. What it did bring to the table though was solid and overall it was a decent flick.
March 8, 2016
Average film but too complicated a plot for me to understand in my mental condition.
½ January 15, 2016
Despite being stylish with its design in its claustrophobic setting, Below's appeal and grasp of attention begins to plunge as its quite tense story needlessly turns to the supernatural.
½ January 15, 2016
Very lame horror movie, with very minimal ammounts of horror in it. The cast was ok but the story didn't really click on the necessary working horror movie levels.
½ December 3, 2015
Guilty pleasure of mine :).
Super Reviewer
October 11, 2015
Didn't hate it, but I expected more from a Twohy/Aronofsky combo.
July 5, 2015
Not a bad movie at all. If not awkward. All story-driven and it doesn't really make much sense, but it's a pretty decent film. Very few scares, not much violence, a tad graphic for a few moments at times. Overall, a slightly better than average watch.
June 15, 2015
Decent film that gets the job done.
½ March 21, 2015
not life changing but a good film, enjoyable with some genuine scares
January 7, 2015
Solid performance in this WWII doomed sub - horror mashup. I liked the war movie bits more than the horror movie bits though. It works as a simple ghost story. Some of the scary bits are pretty cliche.
December 26, 2014
Top notch creepy thriller drama about a haunted submarine in World War Two. I was happily surprised since I'd never heard of this film until I saw it on Encore Suspense. Credits include the Weinstein brothers and Daron Aronofsky. It's technically horror but plays like a thriller.
October 26, 2014
Okay film and not particularly well acted, that said it was okay to watch with a few scary, yet predictable scary moments.
September 21, 2014
Below is an attempt to be a blend of supernatural horror and World War Two thrills, yet it only feels like it points at them and doesn't try to enrich itself in either. Sure it's passably entertaining and has a cast which can act, yet in the end it is mere surface with only a half-hearted effort to be something more interesting than a plain old cliche.
Page 1 of 21