Ben is Back Reviews

Page 1 of 9
September 2, 2020
Ben is Back is Roberts's film.
August 16, 2020
Hedges's central performance is one of expertly portrayed enigma.
April 25, 2020
...Julia Roberts delivers a deeply nuanced turn as Holly, a mother trying to hold her world together and, especially, keep her son, Ben, from imploding.
March 3, 2020
While Roberts and Hedges give strong performances, the increasingly over-the-top nature of their plight as they travel through a terrifying drug hell takes Ben is Back in a direction more suited to a direct-to-DVD thriller
January 5, 2020
Roberts delivers one of the finest performances of her career in this train of emotional power. [Full review in Spanish].
August 30, 2019
Lucas [Hedges] delivers another excellent, performance, but Julia Roberts as Holly struggling with her son gives one that is emotionally charged and compelling.
July 8, 2019
Hedges has been a star since his first role and he has had career-making performances in some of the best films of 2017 and 2018 alongside some of Hollywood's biggest names.
June 23, 2019
Nineteen-year-old drug abuser Ben Burns unsettles his family by showing up on the doorstep on Christmas Eve, when he should by rights still have been in rehab.
June 18, 2019
The screenplay flirts with implausibility, but it draws up a compelling plot that squarely falls on mother and son.
May 23, 2019
Very accurate and thrilling depiction of a day in the life of an addicts' recovery with outstanding performances!
May 21, 2019
Hedges and Roberts are a formidable pair that stabilise the flm when it threatens to teeter slightly out of control with an ending that feels a bit too effortful.
May 18, 2019
Roberts delivers one of her finest performances yet as Holly Burns, a ferocious mama bear who exudes a kind of stalwart resolve through her vulnerability.
May 9, 2019
[Director Peter Hedges] mixes the sweet with the most sour. [Full review in Spanish]
May 9, 2019
Strong performances from Hedges and Roberts are where Ben is Back anchors its feelings and relatability. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 7, 2019
A sensible and potent melodrama. [Full Review in Spanish]
May 6, 2019
We must praise [the film's] restraint and emotional balance. [Full review in Spanish]
May 1, 2019
Strives for honesty in its depiction of drug addiction, not just for the user but their family who are, at times, more affected by this crippling disease
April 30, 2019
Oscar-worthy performances from Roberts and Hedges only add to the devastating power of Ben is Back.
April 11, 2019
Ben Is Back successfully skirts cliches and subverts addiction drama conventions, but it eventually veers into quasi-thriller territory built around the search for a stolen dog...
April 3, 2019
For all its good intentions, Ben Is Back is at most a satisfactory watch, but a remarkable showcase for both Lucas Hedges and Julia Roberts.
Page 1 of 9