Best in Show - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Best in Show Reviews

February 8, 2008
...it's always a pleasure to watch this ensemble of gifted talents do what they do best -- be spontaneous and funny and surprising. What we get is a master-class demonstration of the distinction between comic actors and comedians who try to act.
July 9, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
March 19, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 8, 2001
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
February 7, 2001
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
I enjoyed Best in Show... But I didn't laugh as hard as I did during Guest's previous comedies, This Is Spinal Tap and Waiting for Guffman.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 1, 2000
The rather unoriginal satiric flaw becomes obvious, in most cases, within 30 seconds, the film has little to do but repeat the same giant bull's eye gags over and over again.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 1, 2000
Whatever the reason, [Guest's] films have always developed cult followings once they hit video. Hopefully, Best in Show will buck that trend and be successful in theaters, too.
January 1, 2000
The film's bite is as toothsome as its bark.
January 1, 2000
Guest is good at revealing his characters bit by bit.
January 1, 2000
A wickedly funny mocumentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
It's time we crown Christopher Guest as the King of Satire.
January 1, 2000
Improv comedy rarely makes it onto the big screen. And when it does so as hilariously as it does in Best in Show ... that is certainly cause for celebration.
January 1, 2000
The actors' ad-libbed responses, along with their amateurish reactions to the ever-present camera, are more forlorn than comedic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 1, 2000
In terms of dramatic tension, Best in Show is more compelling than a lot of formulaic sports movies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
The jokes in Best in Show are somewhat one-dimensional, but they hit their target.
January 1, 2000
[Fred Willard's] a one-man storm of escalating inanity, and he's hilarious.
January 1, 2000
The dogs may be cute, but it's the people who steal the show.
January 1, 2000
This giggle does for dog shows what ... Rob Reiner's This Is Spinal Tap did for heavy metal.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
I was laughing so hard, tears were streaming down my cheeks.
January 1, 2000
Alas, Best in Show probably won't find the big audience in theaters it deserves, but it will have a long life in living rooms thereafter.
January 1, 2000
It creates one comic character for the ages: Guffman veteran Fred Willard as addled, veteran, loose-lipped, sex-obsessed sports TV commentator Buck Laughlin.
January 1, 2000
Best in Show is essentially a well-organized, exquisitely nuanced skit comedy.
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
January 1, 2000
With results like this, a new Guest mockumentary every couple of years would be aces by me.
January 1, 2000
You come away wishing that Guest could deliver a new mockumentary not every so often but every year.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
This is one rare occasion when we can be glad that the film industry is going to the dogs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 1, 2000
Read More | Original Score: B
January 1, 2000
It's funny.
January 1, 2000
The movie is light as a lap dog, and often just as lovable.