The Best Years of Our Lives - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Best Years of Our Lives Reviews

February 22, 2015
William Wyler's heartbreaking postwar ballad seems even more radical today than it did in its Oscar-thick heyday. It's as non-propagandistic as an unemployment line.
February 17, 2015
As far as this review is concerned, it is the best picture to come out of Hollywood since the end of the war.
June 3, 2014
[A] powerful, if cumbersome prestige picture.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 2, 2014
Profoundly and sensitively balances the private demons of scarred veterans and the press of public policies that leave their mark on daily life.
February 17, 2009
Like most good mass entertainments, this picture has occasional moments of knowing hokum; but unlike most sure-fire movies, it was put together with good taste, honesty, wit -- and even a strong suggestion of guts.
February 19, 2008
One of the best pictures of our lives.
January 4, 2008
Surprisingly modern: lean, direct, honest about issues that Hollywood then studiously avoided.
December 12, 2006
I'd call this the best American movie about returning soldiers I've ever seen -- the most moving and the most deeply felt.
December 12, 2006
The film is very proud of itself, exuding a stifling piety at times, but it works as well as this sort of thing can, thanks to accomplished performances by Fredric March, Myrna Loy, and Dana Andrews, who keep the human element afloat.
June 24, 2006
Overlong, perhaps, but this tender and occasionally tough look at the plight of returning war veterans is one of Wyler's best films.
May 20, 2003
It is seldom that there comes a motion picture which can be wholly and enthusiastically endorsed not only as superlative entertainment but as food for quiet and humanizing thought.
January 1, 2000
The feeling of warmth and satisfaction that accompanies the conclusion is the hallmark of a great drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4