Better Than Sex - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Better Than Sex Reviews

Page 1 of 5
November 25, 2013
Yes. Not sure whether it was the chemistry of the actors or the quirky take on the story, but this was a good time. Hot without trying to hard, funny without pushing, touching without overstating the drama .
July 29, 2012
A one-idea plot, buoyed by two very agreeable leads.
October 19, 2011
A relatively small amount of contrived drama, but mostly sweet, romantic, and sex scenes with Faramir from LOTR. :)
July 11, 2011
A wonderful Chic Flick!
June 27, 2011
Soft core porn movie about two people who think they know what they're getting into and end up falling for each other. An eye-opening look at sexual relationships and the mating game. Commentary from the couples' friends is a nice touch.
½ April 4, 2011
Would have worked better as a short film. Lacked the depth to be a feature film and it showed, as it ran out of steam. Relied solely on the charm of the main characters and not enough on direction and depth.
½ March 15, 2011
Nothing new. One night stand turns into love, they fight, they make up, Hollywood ending. Had potential to be original, but then continued on the road more travelled. A few interesting or funny moments, but mostly fairly boring.

David Wenham and Susie Porter are OK in the lead roles.
January 2, 2011
I didn't have many expectations for this movie so I was pleasantly surprised by how good it was.
½ December 11, 2010
I really liked this film--honest, realistic, sex-positive and, ultimately, romantic.
½ November 5, 2010
One of those movies which just sneak up on you from behind their unprepossessing blurbs. The essential man-woman story, just done right. Didn't you always wonder how things could have gone if you'd acted on the spark? We've been there, just never thought it would be on screen, and so naturalistic. Susie Porter's really cute, I love the short hair, and just a teeny-tiny bit off in a few of the more intimate scenes, but nothing to detract from what is a lovely story. And I won't give away anything.
Super Reviewer
½ July 1, 2010
A surprisingly good film that looks at the nature of intimacy between two people who have just met. Josh (David Wenham) is a nature photographer, visiting from England where he lives, who winds up in bed with Cin,(Susie Porter) who occasionally creates wedding dresses. They meet at a party and spend the next few days getting to know one another and beginning to share their thoughts and hopes and dreams and their past with one another. Over the course of time, we see them begin to really care about each other. The dialog is unforced and feels so natural, even when, documentary style, the characters are shown speaking to the camera. Rather than distracting, this viewer found the technique to be quite revealing and allowed the viewer to delve into their thought processes. It worked on every level for me. One begins to care deeply for the characters and where they are heading. Beautiful cinematography, a terrific set design and supporting characters who actually support the main story added up to one entertaining film with something to say, and that says it clearly. These are real people dealing with intimacy in an interesting way.
May 7, 2010
better than sex = VANILLA!
½ April 19, 2010
Good movie that makes you think about sex and relationships. :)
February 16, 2010
Errr, far too much sex, and too little plot. (Why am I surprised?)
February 4, 2010
Great movie! So funny and true which makes it amazing !
December 20, 2009
An unexpected surprise...
December 13, 2009
thiS movie is the best!!!!!uN Lng!!!!!!
½ November 29, 2009
Cute and funny and sexy.
½ August 10, 2009
Page 1 of 5