Beyond Hypothermia - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Beyond Hypothermia Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ January 12, 2015
A watchable flick about a hit-woman trying to escape her violent past when she starts to develop a relationship with a noodle-vendor whose shop is near her home. It's got its moments, but sort of falls into a trap of feeling too familiar at times, as a lot of these Asian action flicks can tend to blend together.

Rental?
July 10, 2014
This is a pretty serviceable action thriller from Milkyway Galaxy films. Its about a cold detached hitwoman who yearns for a normal life, and falls in love with a simple noodle vendor. Despite being very by the numbers and not very unique, it does have some excellent camera work and shootouts. This is recommended if you like Hong Kong action cinema.
May 2, 2014
good n bloody hong kong thriller
½ August 12, 2012
Female HK assassin gets lonely and falls for the local noodle guy. The squibs aren't great, but the finale is.
December 28, 2010
A interesting side of a assassin story set on a sudo seemingly lower budget Cantonese film. My biggest complaint is the fact that it was dubbed and i really really hate dubbing foreign films these days, I would much rather read subtitles then a fake emotional english vo.

Other then that though, not a bad film- good shooting, cinematography, and forward moving story and plot. Kinda a crazy over the top ending, but hey= why not.
½ November 17, 2009
A cold blooded female assasin falls in love with a gentle cook.
½ November 10, 2009
The action is great but the acting and the plot are so so in this Asian thriller.
September 27, 2009
4 of 5 stars for this Hong Kong action movie. To start with, let me say that this is a dubbed into English movie. It appears to have been filmed mostly in Hong Kong with a chunk done in South Korea. When you talk about Hong Kong action movies, you first think of kung fu "wire-work" movies. Wrong! This movie has zero kung fu and zero wire scenes. On the other hand, Let the Bullets Fly! The photographic style of this movie is much different than Hollywood; much more ah ah Artistic and may scenes to develop the characters--often without words. You really have to watch this movie carefully to get the full value.

The story is about a woman who is a paid assassin. She is extremely good at her work and is hired often to hit powerful people. Her un-doing is one hit that is successful, but, leaves people who want revenge. There is the start of a romance, but, that is really a way to more fully develop her character and history.

Yes, this is a good movie and is worth watching. Be warned, and be prepared, this ain't no Hollywood movie--it is different and it is good.
July 19, 2009
Patrick Leung's brief stint with Johnnie To's then freshly established filmcompany Milkyway resulted in Beyond Hypothermia, featuring Wu Chien-lien as the adorable (but hardly believable) ice cold killer beginning to thaw out in the arms of allround good guy Lay Ching Wan. The hackneyed cold as ice-metaphore is one of the movie's greatest disadvantages, as is cinematographer Arthur Wong's overextensive use of tilted cameraangles and slow motion action, an attempt at stylishness that only feels contrived. On the plus side, Beyond Hypothermia features one of the last great heroic bloodshed endings ever, exquisitely dark and violent.
alanjayh
Super Reviewer
½ March 3, 2009
A shoot em up where you really don't care who lives or dies. The romantic subplot is contrived and lacks any true emotion. The lead actress is so cold and emotionless you have no empathy for what happens to her, although you know it isn't going to end pretty. Her nemesis looks like a Duran Duran band member, and probably can sing better than act. Ching Wan Lau is his usual reliable self, but his role is secondary and adds little to the story. The saving grace is the finale, which is a gritty gem of camerawork, although in similar vein as John Woo's "The Killer", everything seems to be in slow motion. The only difference is that "The Killer" is a far superior piece of work that Beyond Hypoetermia can only strive to be.
January 25, 2009
I so loved this film.
Cold
Strong and moving.
Nothing new in the plot or nothing original.
But its a good film which i can watch again and again.
Amazing the detail how a killer sleeps!!!
December 6, 2008
This movie sucks, but the alternate plot we invented for it about the illiterate noodle salesman and the lead singer of Icehouse is fucking awesome.
December 6, 2008
This movie sucks, but the alternate plot we invented for it about the illiterate noodle salesman and the lead singer of Icehouse is fucking awesome.
½ November 13, 2008
one of the best HKBOs (hong kong blood operas) out there. very nice movie!!! i miss it
November 8, 2008
Interesting movie! Loved the korean guy! storyline was ok too!
½ October 26, 2008
5.5/10. Better than I was expecting, it has some solid action scenes and some good cinematography. Good pace, but the acting just isn't conving, as is often the case in Asian films of this nature.
FanGirl
Super Reviewer
June 22, 2008
This movie makes me want noodles really bad.
May 26, 2008
i put five star for this one but i know a lot of poeple will not agree with me on this one but it is stricly personal taste
March 9, 2008
Le plus bel hommage à John Woo. Seules les scènes tournées en Corée assombrissent ce sublime tableau.
½ December 1, 2007
A somewhat decent Hong Kong gun action movie that is mostly saved by the fact that there are a few WTF moments. It also settles the question of Car vs. Human....car wins, quite a few times.
Page 1 of 2