Beyond the Gates - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Beyond the Gates Reviews

Page 1 of 4
November 24, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 17, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 29, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 13, 2008
Beyond the Gates takes an unflinching look at the start of the Rwandan genocide.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 4, 2008
This is a spiritual drama, not a political one, drawing a thick line between our good intentions and the selfish choices we ultimately make.
September 20, 2007
It simply presents, and assumes that we have the inherent morality to understand that what we are watching is evil.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
August 11, 2007
Though less reassuring and not as dramatically coherent as Hotel Rwanda, it still packs a hard punch.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 1, 2007
An intense and gripping drama that makes you realize that this page in Rwandan history deserves to be told more than once, lest history forget.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 12, 2007
The sight of one character, a pleasant soul full of love and a lust for life I couldn't help but admire, suddenly brandishing a machete, his leg covered in blood and wearing a friendly smile made ice water run straight through my veins.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 31, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 30, 2007
Make sure you sit through the credits to learn about the victims who survived and worked on this film ---- extraordinary!
Full Review
March 30, 2007
The film chronicles man's inhumanity to man during the Rwandan genocide of 1994, (where) selflessness and selfishness stand side by side ----
Full Review
March 30, 2007
There's little respite from the terrible history that this film retells just a determination (made stronger by the faces we see after the credits) to tell it, to be sure that history doesn't forget.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 30, 2007
A compelling drama about the 1994 genocide in Rwanda and the moral heroism of a compassionate priest.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 29, 2007
A gripping, terrifying, profoundly touching human drama that's definitely worth seeing.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 29, 2007
A gripping fictionalized account of a 1994 incident in Rwanda that became a shocking emblem of the Rwandan Hutus' mass slaughter of the Tutsis.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
March 23, 2007
By keeping most of the action contained to the school grounds and immediate environs, director Michael Caton-Jones creates a claustrophobic atmosphere where fear can fester.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 21, 2007
Instead of the latest major studio flummery, do yourself a favor and see this brilliant, low-budget independent masterpiece, one that educates as well as entertains.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
March 18, 2007
Director Michael Caton-Jones doesn't go for obvious pathos or simple outrage. He approaches the picture's theme with a documentary realism that, scene by scene, heightens the drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 17, 2007
The movie does suggest that Joe's ignorance and sense of privilege, however honorable his intentions, make a dangerous combination.
Page 1 of 4