Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 3, 2013
By the end, I was muttering at every critic and musician and record producer, "Guys, tell me something I don't know."
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 22, 2013
"Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me" is no doubt going to please fans of the cult rock band, but the rest of us may feel like outsiders - not put off by the proceedings, really, but somewhat mystified as to what all the fuss is about.
July 2, 2013
Whether this love letter is more preaching to the converted than a corrective is arguable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 3, 2013
The band's trajectory will not be unfamiliar to anyone who has read a musician's biography or watched a few episodes of Behind The Music (formation > inspiration > destruction) so the only real variables are in how the story is being told.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 19, 2013
Nothing Can Hurt Me is the perfect music doc in that it services longtime fans while providing the opportunity to make new ones as well.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 1, 2014
The result is an observed story, without the why of Big Star's musical disintegration that is at the heart of their enduring legend.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 15, 2013
[Documents] the band's coming together and falling apart and [offers] a passionate tribute to its brilliant, beautiful music.
February 27, 2013
Should satisfy both long-term acolytes and those newly curious of Big Star's timeless artistry.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 1, 2013
Interesting enough, but you may leave the theater still wondering what all the fuss was about.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 1, 2014
There's a distinct lack of archive footage of the band in their prime, but the director makes a good stab at bringing to life the studio sessions that produced such treasures as The Ballad of El Goodo.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 31, 2014
Rewards true fans while enticing the uninitiated.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 1, 2013
Considering the star-crossed band it documents, there should be no surprise that "Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me" has a melancholy tinge to it.
July 25, 2013
If you're not already a fan of the power pop godfathers, "Big Star" could make you one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 2, 2013
A well-sourced account of a perfect, broken dream, Drew DeNicola and Olivia Mori's slightly shaggy documentary captures what it's like to discover music so good it seems as if it were made just for you.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 12, 2013
All too many music documentaries send you away feeling unsatisfied, but with its heartfelt backstory and generous helpings of music, Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me is a shining exception.
July 12, 2013
[A] thoroughly detailed (though a bit long) doc that charts the band's thwarted expectations.
July 1, 2013
A rock-doc that mythologizes the tragicomic flame out of power pop's seminal band, and the fan-made afterlife that brought them long-delayed success.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 28, 2013
Whether or not you are familiar with the band or their music, this movie will fill you with a rare kind of musical euphoria. You'll love it.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
July 4, 2013
The film certainly gives the band its due, but it will likely appeal more to Big Star cultists, ones eager for minutia about recording and business deals.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 30, 2013
If Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me leads even one person to listen to Big Star for the first time, this movie will have done a great service.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 2