Billu - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Billu Reviews

Page 2 of 15
June 7, 2010
Visually great. Absolutely stunning.
March 16, 2010
Heartwarming comedy that put me in mind of Preston Sturges comedies of the 1940's. Billu is a barber in a small town who may or may not know massive Bollywood star Sahir Khan. Finding himself turned into a reluctant hero by the association, Billu's life is turned upside down - but can he deliver Sahir to his village....?

This is really good fun and best of all Shah Rukh Khan gets to send himself up as the larger-than-life star of the film within the film.
½ March 6, 2010
This was a good journey to follow, well made, good music, and wonderful photography. SRK making movies of himself can become old (it reminded me of Om Shanti Om) but gladly the movie is well distributed among the different characters, hence I didn't feel the burden of watching Shahrukh worship his own idolatry. With great images and good actors, this is a good time pass, with pleasant moments.
March 2, 2010
Day : Friday
Date: 20 Feb 2009
Time: 10.30 pm
With: No one
On : PC

A story of two friends filmed very well. But more of the real life situation how people imagine things.
February 14, 2010
great movie, probably one of the best in 2009
½ January 22, 2010
Really enjoyed the story...it was a guy movie for the gals
January 3, 2010
to me this is very touching...tear drops a lot...oh I love it!
½ December 30, 2009
Irfan Khan is superb in the understated humble role of a barber in rural India trying to eke a living. Story revolves around a village which is visited by a film star (Shah Rukh in a rocking role) and loses its sanity in the process. Billu who manages to retain his moral compass throughout is ignored, patronised and then finally derided (completing the cycle of 15 mins of fame). Amazing flick about the fickleness of fame and the short lifespan that public memory has. The great - Irfan, Two rocking item numbers with Deepika & Kareena and the ensemble cast. The reason for not giving this 5 stars - Priyadarshan reduced the emotion of the original Mallu/Tamil version (for some inexplicable reason) by quite a few notches. With those scenes this would have been a rocker.
½ December 24, 2009
Nice and simple film!
December 14, 2009
Why do Bollywood movies have to be so excruciatingly long? If it weren't for the length, i would have liked it a lot more.

Way too much unnecessary dialogue and during the climax when SRK gave his speech, it didn't fit with the rest of his speech and the events. I mean, come on... he randomly starts sobbing about his long lost friend out of nowhere, you're at a school event, not at your psychiatrist! Anyways, its a sweet simply story and the ending was touching but the length and the jorney we had to take to get to that point was dreadfully painful. 6/10
½ December 2, 2009
Good storyline, funny in places, some of the songs were good.
November 25, 2009
funny plot & excellent acting by da "super star" XD
September 23, 2009
Yhdistaa aivan poskettomalla tavalla perinteista intialaista sosiaalista draamaa ja Bollywoodia. Shahrukh Khanilla on maailman parhaat sisaantulot edelleen.
September 21, 2009
preety good story but it wasn't for 2 hours!!!
September 19, 2009
It looks like a low budget movie with big stars in there.The movie is well-arranged. It's very clear what Priyadarshan tried to bring to audience, just not everyone would sympathize with it.

The story shows the big gap between wealth and poverty in indian society humorously and suggest some points to deal with it, discussing the value of fame, wealth and friendship. It can be inspiring.

I like the story and atmosphere of the movie, cute and warm, quite similar like the most popular Taiwanese movie in 2008 ' Cape No. 7 ' .
September 14, 2009
A simple comedy about a very old friendship. Compared to the Slumdog Millionaire, which the framework can ft into most of the society in east/west, this comedy can only fit into India's background. Very good songs and dancing sences.

But some of the dances sections are very odd and unrelated.... may be this is the style.
September 3, 2009
Priyadarshan is my favourite director
½ September 1, 2009
what the hell was this !.... once it ends, you realize that the story is too simple, so simple that its not worth making a movie out of ..... a couple of scenes are very funny, and some songs are nice ..... acting is very good by everyone involved, including the "over acting" king khan ....

but its like making a movie out of Twinkle Twinkle little star, and then expecting some story line and content :)
August 31, 2009
Bollywood has made a few too many films about filmmaking of late, but this one manages one sweet and unexpected reversal. In a Hollywood context, "Billu Barber" would be the old story about cynical big city types decamping to the countryside and learning important lessons about community, patience and love; but Priyadarshan here adopts the villagers' perspective, and - leaving Shah Rukh and his entourage on the sidelines for the most part - shows how Billu's life is made only harder by the arrival of the media circus, and in particular by the proximity of someone who's made something so spectacular of himself. This is an outstanding performance by Irfan Khan: dignified and deeply felt, more moving in its subtlety than anything in his co-star and namesake's big, moist-eyed, wobbly-voiced awards-reel speech during the denouement. Everything else is secondary, although some thought has gone into the screenplay: it's a nice touch that the film-within-the-film should be a "Prince and the Pauper" variant centring on the reconciliation of twin brothers, even if what we see of it is so reliant on blue screens and wirework there seems no particular reason for its producers to be seeking out remote villages to shoot it in. Shah Rukh's public appearances, with their police motorcades and red-black banners, look unnervingly like fascist rallies.
August 30, 2009
Not a very nicely-directed movie, but it can inspire me to think sth special. Depends how u watch it~ Could be better than juz plainly watched, and somehow I would regard it as a musical one.
Page 2 of 15