Birdman - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Birdman Reviews

Page 1 of 17
August 28, 2018
If Iñárritu's Biutiful couldn't let up with the ugly horrors of life, this one can't pause to inject some actual humanity into the neuroses of the artist.
August 22, 2018
I did, indeed, hate Birdman in all kinds of expected ways, as stated above, I also despised it in ways that completely took me by surprise, and yes, this goes beyond the crashing cymbals in Antonio Sanchez's earache-inducing score.
November 13, 2017
For all its carping about the virtues of unfettered creativity, Birdman is little more than a rote confirmation of what middlebrow artists and prestige-charmed critics already believe.
September 27, 2017
I expected the films content to be as dynamic as the aesthetic, instead what I got was a film that contented itself with portraying a surface-level story of a man pining for glory and allowing others to define not only its form but its terms and conditins
February 22, 2016
Birdman is desperate to be noticed, and if it throws up enough artistic flourishes, then perhaps you'll give the picture the respect it craves.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 16, 2016
When high style meets dumb ideas it can be hard to tell which way is up.
October 24, 2014
Birdman exists in that realm of cinematic thought where condemning whatever is currently popular in mainstream film is considered intellectual bravery...
January 2, 2015
[Birdman] is audacious technically, and so meta it may well blow your mind, but it is also weird, maddening, wearing and exhausting.
October 12, 2014
It places regurgitated ideas into the mouths of gifted actors, then drops them amid a kooky story that plays like an elaborate distraction from what little the film actually has to say.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 8, 2015
But the film's running gag - narcissistic, insecure and attention-starved actors - eventually becomes woefully one-note.
October 17, 2014
The single take gimmick is the heart of what's wrong with Birdman - it's cool, it's catchy, it's well done, it's screamingly obvious and eventually pointless.
October 29, 2014
In Birdman, ignorance goes viral.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
February 22, 2016
Even when Keaton is transforming his character's stock issues into ones that feel unique and genuine, he's undercut by his director's flashiness, right up to an on-the-nose finale.
January 8, 2015
Iñárritu's film isn't half as clever as it thinks it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
October 24, 2014
It's a white elephant of a movie that conceals a mouse of timid wisdom, a mighty and churning machine of virtuosity that delivers a work of utterly familiar and unoriginal drama.
January 4, 2015
Iñárritu serves up a truly fanciful production that is long on characterization but woefully short in the realities of the theatre.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 2, 2015
A self-indulgent and generally tedious luvvie comedy where smug has been substituted for smart. It's a bit like those mediocre films pumped out by Woody Allen in the 90s.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 24, 2014
An ambitious failure...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 10, 2015
Light as an anvil, Birdman is a sometimes dazzling, often infuriating act of gaseous virtuosity. I was never sure if I should applaud or roll my eyes. A lot of the time I was doing both.
December 13, 2014
Makes you question what's real and not, but doesn't follow through. Two thirds of a absolutely brilliant film that in the end made me want to throw a brick through the screen. Goes completely off the rails.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Page 1 of 17