Black Shampoo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Black Shampoo Reviews

Page 1 of 2
January 13, 2014
Watched this one immediately after Shampoo, because I was anxious to get that taste out of my mouth, and I'll be damned if this one didn't just blow me away from start to finish. Well worth tracking down, this one has some great music, fun action, great fashions and some cute ladies.

Recommended.
July 30, 2013
As far as blaxploitation films go, Black Shampoo is not a very good one. It's an attempt to cash in on the success of Hal Ashby's Shampoo, which is about a virile white hairdresser in the form of Warren Beatty. It's pretty much the same concept for this movie, but my goodness, did they ever lose it with the script and secondary characters. First of all, there's a couple of overtly gay men working in the styling salon who get beat up by the mob pretty often. Second, there's a scene featuring a "Bar-B-Que" (which is actually how they say it), featuring people in costumes, people naked and, best of all, there is no BBQ. Instead, there's fried chicken. Anyways, there's lots of crazy stuff in this movie and it is flat-out unintentionally hilarious. I'd say more, but I don't want to spoil all the fun. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone who's a fan of bad movies with lots of unintentional hilarity, because it delivers, but blaxploitation fans can pass it up.
Super Reviewer
March 16, 2012
Oh Gosh, what a horrible blaxploitation film... It's campy fun but too over the top
July 5, 2011
For a film that promised alot via its trailer...this is biggest pile of shit going!
½ April 16, 2011
The poster artwork for this film has our afro bearing hero sporting a pistol in one hand and the other grasping a hair dryer all while having submissive beauties succulently grapple his legs. The poster artwork alone made this highly exploitative blaxploitation worth the five dollar purchase but I again was suckered by promising artwork and delivered a plateful overcooked shit once again.

Jonathan is the extreme alfa male as he runs a gigolo ring out of his hair salon. Let's just say he's great at gelling up both sets of hair on women, both the attic and basement. Even though he's getting all the ass he could ever want, he still falls for his new receptionist who has an ass to die for... or at least to take the mob on for. She apparently used to be the main squeeze for a mafia boss and know her former boss wants her back but Jonathan won't have it. She escapes and our Black Shampoo hero straps on a chainsaw for vengeance.

Out of all the blaxploitation films I have had the pleasure to witness, "Black Shampoo" is definitely one of the more exploitative entries when it comes to onscreen nudity and bloody violence. Our title hero gets so much ass I actually lost count. Exploitation director Greydon Clark actually has the film come to a complete standstill in order to have the camera linger on all tits and booty. Now I'm not against the female form but in this film it just comes across as cheap entertainment like Clark is trying to make up for the films other MARGINAL shortcomings by loading up on all the female flesh he can. We even get a sequence where our hero makes a house call only to get to teenagers stripping around him before their mother comes out to give him a lap dance. What the fuck? This scene absolutely has no relevance to the rest of the so called "plot" and makes the film seem more like a cheap porno as opposed to a blaxploitation film.

I have a lot of problems with Greydon Clark's filmmaking as it looks cheap and sloppy. Now I understand this is a low budget drive-in picture but Clark doesn't even seem to be trying. I'm talking about bad zooms, poor pans and sloppy scene transitions (which he tries to cover with the on screen image going negative). The acting is despicable and the writing matches it. I haven't seen a film with so many pointless filler scenes in a long time. What's up with the barbecue sequence other than to pad the run time? Also if you like seeing people drive around then get ready for a shit tone of these long, boring scenes.

Sure "Black Shampoo" is high on 'exploitation' but it is low on actual film quality. I'm all for exploitation films but I prefer a little polish and good filmmaking to go along with those lovable ingredients. "Black Shampoo" just lacks good directing, good writing and good acting making this for a rather trying film experience and definitely one of the worst Blaxploitation films I have ever seen. If you all you consider for a 'good' movie is nudity and violence then buy all means give "Black Shampoo" a shot. The silly concept and promising poster artwork make this seem a lot more entertaining than it is.

Written By Eric Reifschneider
½ January 17, 2011
Just as bad as you'd expect, but it delivers on what you'd want from this kind of movie - and maybe a bit more - though it could have used some tighter pacing. Good fun for cult movie fans.
½ August 19, 2010
For a blaxplotaion film it looks more in parts to be a blaxplotaion sexplotaion film, there is no real action just alot of fucking.


The plot: Mr jonathans runs his extremly popular womans salon were they are in heaven being serve by Mr Jonathan with thier hair styles and at the same time having sexual fun with this "lovin machine". But troubles soon ensure when his hot young receptionist is taken by her old boss a mob leader. Soon the Mobsters learn they just fucked with this lovin machine armed with a chainsaw becomes the ultamite killin machine.

average plot, alot of female nudity , sex ,a touch of gore and wooden acting makes this film a really bad chlice of the blaxplotaion genre. 5/10 funny but not much esle
½ February 15, 2010
This movie is surreal. It starts out as a cornball comedy, with writing about on par with the average porn ("But I didnā??t order a pizza"). John Daniels is wonderfully awful in the lead. He's supposed to be a super-lover that all the women dig, but he comes off as an awkward dullard. There's plenty of nudity, lots of bad jokes, and some surprisingly good music. Then things take an unexpected turn for the dark and violent. With about fifteen minutes to go, things get really bad. Lots of people die, in ugly ways. I have no idea why there's a sudden shift in tone, but it's jarring. Of course, a good deal of this film is jarring, and that's half the fun. Oh, man, the cowboy picnic.
February 13, 2010
The adventures of Mr. Jonathan, the most popular (heterosexual) hair stylist of Los Angeles, are the stuff of Blaxploitation legend. John Daniels is Jonathan Knight, a sex monster that just canā??t help himself and despite being quite the wooden stiff, heā??s also incredibly entertaining. I loved his relationship with his homosexual partners and the Cowboy barbeque at the center of the film is disturbing and hilarious. Filled with a wide variety of nudity and climaxing surprisingly with Texas Chainsaw Massacre levels of violence, Black Shampoo must be seen to be believed. VF.
May 31, 2009
The sex scenes in this film are exactly how sex scenes should be: gratuitous, random, unpleasant, awkward, almost ten full minutes long, loaded with ugly people, having nothing to do with the plot. It helps that they're followed by a chainsaw fight. Mr. Johnathan should be a hero to all.
December 19, 2008
this looks funny as fuck, I've got to get my hands on it sometime. tear the roof off the sucker!
December 7, 2008
This is one of those films that are so bad that its good. Downright hilarious. Laughed hard at times. Action is as cheap as a crack addict whore (not saying that from experience of being with one) and the laughs mostly come because the movie is trying to be serious.
September 3, 2008
probably the best blacksploitation movie ever made!
Adam Sandler's You Don't Mess With the Zohan (which SUCKED) seems even more wimpy now.
July 30, 2008
Wasn't nothing PG-13 about that movie lol
July 24, 2008
This absolutely has got to be one of the most rediculous films I've ever seen........wow. Tanya Boyd is gorgeous, though.
June 30, 2008
that trailer is just....wow that a lot of 70's
January 13, 2008
Ifs I coulds gets me a hairdo from that Jonathan mmmmgirl dont know what i do. Plus the part scene is one of the best choreographed scenes in the history of man and art. If people came back from the past and watched this movie now...they would invent immortality to live to see this again 6000 years later. in the age of the robots. HUH???!!
December 6, 2007
Most bad-ass blaxploitation stars of the seventies walk hard and carry a big stick (if you know what I mean) But not "Mr. Johnathan". He's a sensitive hair-dresser that treats the dozens of woman that try pulling him into their beds with respect and dignity. His best friends are the two homosexuals he has hired to work in his salon, very liberal for 1976. But make no mistake - If you mess with Mr. Johnathan, his woman, his friends or his salon - he will take you down - big time! John Daniels didn't do enough acting, but his work here as well as in "The Candy Tangerine Man" are two of my favorite examples of low-end blaxploitaion. A strong contender in the "They don't make 'em like this anymore" category - It's not likely that anybody would make a Hero-hairdresser film called BLACK SHAMPOO today, without it being a comedic parody.
September 17, 2007
Best film ever made. Check out the DVD -- I wrote the liner notes and interviews from Cashiers du Cinemart are a part of the disc.
Page 1 of 2