The Blair Witch Project - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Blair Witch Project Reviews

Page 1 of 8
September 29, 2014
Feel free to admire it: As a cheeky, clever stunt, it deserves it. Enjoying it fully might be a bit more difficult.
September 24, 2007
The viewer never glimpses anything more than the shadow of a clever movie.
July 23, 2007
The lofty talk in the press of its being a new horror masterpiece is nonsense.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
The film is a faux documentary, made by two first-time filmmakers.
January 1, 2000
An innovative concept and well-improvised dialogue is no substitute for coherent narrative vision.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
January 1, 2000
An innovative idea marred by poor execution.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 3, 2003
I can readily understand why some people, more willing than I to suspend their disbelief, would be frightened out of their wits by the goings on.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
January 15, 2005
They just want to scare us by confusing us, disorienting us, and by playing a simple trick on our inner ear.
Read More | Original Score: C-
December 5, 2015
Much has been made of the film's creepiness-enhancing subtlety, but I found it a hollow and unconvincing exercise in post-modern gimmickry. It neither showed nor told because there was nothing to show or tell.
October 26, 2010
A brilliant marketing campaign, to be sure, but this Z-grade con of a film offers no payoff for audiences looking to be scared.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/10
January 1, 2000
What we have here is a group of kids who scream like banshees, uttering obscenities without a clever piece of dialogue!
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
January 1, 2000
Unfortunately, Blair Witch is far from being an antidote to rampant special effects over-dependence.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 1, 2000
Scary? Not for a second. Even so, the next project by these two directors is something to look forward to. At least they are willing to take risks.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 1, 2000
I thought it was an original idea with an extremely authentic look and acting from its main characters, but God help if I didn't really find it all that interesting, scary or even entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
April 1, 2001
See it, enjoy it, forget it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 5, 2013
Its shaky camera work and fuzzy images get monotonous after a while, and there's not much room for character development within the very limited plot.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 1, 2000
The tiny plot meanders forlornly, resorting to spook touches that were old before the brothers Grimm were born.
September 18, 2001
...the movie isn't half as diabolical as its marketing plan.
April 27, 2007
Where is the suspense? Where is the involvement? Where is the identification?
Page 1 of 8