Bless Me, Ultima - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bless Me, Ultima Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 13, 2013
A thoughtful, sentimental fable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 29, 2013
... bogged down by its deliberate pace, reliance on Catholic symbolism, and its one-dimensional characters.
March 23, 2013
[Director Carl] Franklin is sensitive to the way boys interact, bump chests, bicker, and bond-just as he is to how adults justify their hypocrisy and excuse their failures.
March 7, 2013
Erring only slightly on the Hallmark side.
March 7, 2013
Aassured, sensitive, and commendably unpretentious.
March 5, 2013
The low-level magical realism never gels with the coming-of-age drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 1, 2013
It knows exactly what kind of film it is -- unfortunately, what kind of film it is, is an unimaginatively directed coming-of-age tale with hardly any narrative momentum.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
February 26, 2013
The lyrical book is filled with touches of magical realism. On the other hand, the movie is sorely lacking in both magic and realism. It's all very empty and blah.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 24, 2013
a profound story told in a deceptively simple way. Deceptive, but curiously suitable for a film about identity, belief, and the nature both good and evil in all their guises.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 24, 2013
Based on the novel of the same name by Rudolfo Anaya, "Bless Me, Ultima" is a magical compilation of family, life, death, religion and the meaning of it all.
February 24, 2013
"Bless Me, Ultima" is a beautifully photographed film, but it has a lot of problems...sketchy character development, but the bigger issue is the film's disjointed flow.
February 22, 2013
The choice to include a ponderous narration violates that basic rule of storytelling: Show rather than tell.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 22, 2013
Bless Me, Ultima creates a wholly original coming of age story by blending mysticism with conventional Catholicism.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 22, 2013
An offbeat slice of Americana will intrigue thoughtful moviegoers.
February 22, 2013
Theater firebrand and big-screen presence Miriam Colon portrays Ultima with a minimum of fuss and a gorgeous supply of elder authority.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
February 22, 2013
Writer-director Carl Franklin offers up a tone of heightened reverence that weighs down the material, but there are small, lovely moments when the magic realism approaches the magical.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 22, 2013
Although Bless Me, Ultima can feel a bit overstuffed, it's an honest and naturalistic kids' story about growing up Mexican-American.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 21, 2013
A deeply satisfying feat of storytelling, "Bless Me, Ultima" makes a difficult task look easy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 21, 2013
Here's a coming-of-age movie that feels both generic and personal.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 21, 2013
Bless Me, Ultima has its earnest heart - and setting - in the right place.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 2