Bless Me, Ultima - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bless Me, Ultima Reviews

Page 2 of 2
February 21, 2013
Reminiscent of Billy Bob Thornton's "All the Pretty Horses" or Lasse Hallström's "The Shipping News" - literary adaptations that got the look right, while lacking the easy flow of the original work.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 21, 2013
There's a bit of a cable-movie feel to 'Bless Me, Ultima,' but in the end its sincerity and willingness to address big issues...make it an admirable attempt to bring an important piece of Chicano literature to the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
February 21, 2013
Its very existence in a godforsaken marketplace is a minor miracle.
February 21, 2013
The material calls out for a more expressive cinematographic treatment. Had the film been less antiseptic and more bold in its visuals and the emotional depths of its performances, it could have been a classic; instead, it's a rather ordinary indie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 21, 2013
Shamelessly earnest and absurdly shallow ... tiptoes around questions of faith and runs away from any incident that might push someone in the other direction.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
February 21, 2013
A mostly gentle and tastefully photographed depiction of a young boy's coming of age in rural 1940s New Mexico.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 21, 2013
Franklin's eye is alert to both the landscape and his ensemble of performers. Call "Bless Me, Ultima" a mixed blessing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 21, 2013
Lots of films (and lots of books) have charted a boy's path to manhood. Bless Me, Ultima is special because it's about this boy, in this time and place, where his peers and elders are rushing to label him before he can forge his own identity.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 21, 2013
Carl Franklin's film is true to the tone and spirit of the book. It is patient and in no hurry. It allows a balanced eye for the people in its hero's family who tug him one way and another.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
February 20, 2013
Instead of a heartfelt exploration of a vibrant part of American culture, Bless Me comes off like a dull TV movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 19, 2013
The film won't disappoint fans of the book, although they may regret some of the adaptation's necessary condensation and/or elimination of narrative themes and events.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
February 19, 2013
Nearly as sacred as the Good Book itself in some circles, Rudolfo Anaya's Bless Me, Ultima has survived the leap to the bigscreen with much of its magic intact, thanks to a respectful if somewhat wooden adaptation by writer-director Carl Franklin.
February 19, 2013
Meticulous recreation of a time and place, but this poetic novel becomes all-too-prosaic on the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 18, 2013
The film's interest in social themes remains background fodder within a far more generic good-versus-evil narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 2 of 2