Bless Me, Ultima - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bless Me, Ultima Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 13, 2013
A thoughtful, sentimental fable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 23, 2013
[Director Carl] Franklin is sensitive to the way boys interact, bump chests, bicker, and bond-just as he is to how adults justify their hypocrisy and excuse their failures.
March 7, 2013
Erring only slightly on the Hallmark side.
March 7, 2013
Aassured, sensitive, and commendably unpretentious.
February 24, 2013
a profound story told in a deceptively simple way. Deceptive, but curiously suitable for a film about identity, belief, and the nature both good and evil in all their guises.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 24, 2013
Based on the novel of the same name by Rudolfo Anaya, "Bless Me, Ultima" is a magical compilation of family, life, death, religion and the meaning of it all.
February 22, 2013
Bless Me, Ultima creates a wholly original coming of age story by blending mysticism with conventional Catholicism.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 22, 2013
An offbeat slice of Americana will intrigue thoughtful moviegoers.
February 22, 2013
Theater firebrand and big-screen presence Miriam Colon portrays Ultima with a minimum of fuss and a gorgeous supply of elder authority.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
February 22, 2013
Writer-director Carl Franklin offers up a tone of heightened reverence that weighs down the material, but there are small, lovely moments when the magic realism approaches the magical.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 22, 2013
Although Bless Me, Ultima can feel a bit overstuffed, it's an honest and naturalistic kids' story about growing up Mexican-American.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 21, 2013
A deeply satisfying feat of storytelling, "Bless Me, Ultima" makes a difficult task look easy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 21, 2013
Here's a coming-of-age movie that feels both generic and personal.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 21, 2013
Bless Me, Ultima has its earnest heart - and setting - in the right place.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 21, 2013
There's a bit of a cable-movie feel to 'Bless Me, Ultima,' but in the end its sincerity and willingness to address big issues...make it an admirable attempt to bring an important piece of Chicano literature to the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
February 21, 2013
Its very existence in a godforsaken marketplace is a minor miracle.
February 21, 2013
The material calls out for a more expressive cinematographic treatment. Had the film been less antiseptic and more bold in its visuals and the emotional depths of its performances, it could have been a classic; instead, it's a rather ordinary indie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 21, 2013
A mostly gentle and tastefully photographed depiction of a young boy's coming of age in rural 1940s New Mexico.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 21, 2013
Franklin's eye is alert to both the landscape and his ensemble of performers. Call "Bless Me, Ultima" a mixed blessing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 21, 2013
Lots of films (and lots of books) have charted a boy's path to manhood. Bless Me, Ultima is special because it's about this boy, in this time and place, where his peers and elders are rushing to label him before he can forge his own identity.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 2