Bless Me, Ultima - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bless Me, Ultima Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 5, 2013
The low-level magical realism never gels with the coming-of-age drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 20, 2013
Instead of a heartfelt exploration of a vibrant part of American culture, Bless Me comes off like a dull TV movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 19, 2013
Meticulous recreation of a time and place, but this poetic novel becomes all-too-prosaic on the screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 1, 2013
It knows exactly what kind of film it is -- unfortunately, what kind of film it is, is an unimaginatively directed coming-of-age tale with hardly any narrative momentum.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
February 21, 2013
Shamelessly earnest and absurdly shallow ... tiptoes around questions of faith and runs away from any incident that might push someone in the other direction.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
February 24, 2013
"Bless Me, Ultima" is a beautifully photographed film, but it has a lot of problems...sketchy character development, but the bigger issue is the film's disjointed flow.
February 22, 2013
The choice to include a ponderous narration violates that basic rule of storytelling: Show rather than tell.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 21, 2013
Reminiscent of Billy Bob Thornton's "All the Pretty Horses" or Lasse Hallström's "The Shipping News" - literary adaptations that got the look right, while lacking the easy flow of the original work.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 26, 2013
The lyrical book is filled with touches of magical realism. On the other hand, the movie is sorely lacking in both magic and realism. It's all very empty and blah.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 29, 2013
... bogged down by its deliberate pace, reliance on Catholic symbolism, and its one-dimensional characters.
March 7, 2013
Aassured, sensitive, and commendably unpretentious.
February 18, 2013
The film's interest in social themes remains background fodder within a far more generic good-versus-evil narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 21, 2013
Carl Franklin's film is true to the tone and spirit of the book. It is patient and in no hurry. It allows a balanced eye for the people in its hero's family who tug him one way and another.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
February 22, 2013
Theater firebrand and big-screen presence Miriam Colon portrays Ultima with a minimum of fuss and a gorgeous supply of elder authority.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
February 21, 2013
Franklin's eye is alert to both the landscape and his ensemble of performers. Call "Bless Me, Ultima" a mixed blessing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 7, 2013
Erring only slightly on the Hallmark side.
February 22, 2013
Bless Me, Ultima creates a wholly original coming of age story by blending mysticism with conventional Catholicism.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 13, 2013
A thoughtful, sentimental fable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 21, 2013
A mostly gentle and tastefully photographed depiction of a young boy's coming of age in rural 1940s New Mexico.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 21, 2013
Bless Me, Ultima has its earnest heart - and setting - in the right place.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 1 of 2