Bless Me, Ultima - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bless Me, Ultima Reviews

March 7, 2013
Aassured, sensitive, and commendably unpretentious.
February 26, 2013
The lyrical book is filled with touches of magical realism. On the other hand, the movie is sorely lacking in both magic and realism. It's all very empty and blah.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 22, 2013
An offbeat slice of Americana will intrigue thoughtful moviegoers.
February 22, 2013
Theater firebrand and big-screen presence Miriam Colon portrays Ultima with a minimum of fuss and a gorgeous supply of elder authority.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
February 22, 2013
Writer-director Carl Franklin offers up a tone of heightened reverence that weighs down the material, but there are small, lovely moments when the magic realism approaches the magical.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 21, 2013
A deeply satisfying feat of storytelling, "Bless Me, Ultima" makes a difficult task look easy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 21, 2013
Here's a coming-of-age movie that feels both generic and personal.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 21, 2013
Bless Me, Ultima has its earnest heart - and setting - in the right place.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 21, 2013
Reminiscent of Billy Bob Thornton's "All the Pretty Horses" or Lasse Hallström's "The Shipping News" - literary adaptations that got the look right, while lacking the easy flow of the original work.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 21, 2013
Its very existence in a godforsaken marketplace is a minor miracle.
February 21, 2013
A mostly gentle and tastefully photographed depiction of a young boy's coming of age in rural 1940s New Mexico.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 21, 2013
Franklin's eye is alert to both the landscape and his ensemble of performers. Call "Bless Me, Ultima" a mixed blessing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 21, 2013
Lots of films (and lots of books) have charted a boy's path to manhood. Bless Me, Ultima is special because it's about this boy, in this time and place, where his peers and elders are rushing to label him before he can forge his own identity.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 21, 2013
Carl Franklin's film is true to the tone and spirit of the book. It is patient and in no hurry. It allows a balanced eye for the people in its hero's family who tug him one way and another.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
February 19, 2013
Nearly as sacred as the Good Book itself in some circles, Rudolfo Anaya's Bless Me, Ultima has survived the leap to the bigscreen with much of its magic intact, thanks to a respectful if somewhat wooden adaptation by writer-director Carl Franklin.