The Blockhouse - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Blockhouse Reviews

Page 1 of 1
February 18, 2013
The book was very gripping I've yet to see the film
February 10, 2013
Low key acting adds to the sense of claustrophobia. Well worth the feeling of increasing doom - you are told at the start how many survive.
½ April 15, 2012
One of the most hardest films I've ever tried to watch. The despair and hopelessness of this story lingers.
January 7, 2012
One of the most depressing films I have ever seen!- Peter Sellers is excellent as Roquet- It is a shame that the film finishes when the candles run out- less than half way through their ordeal.

This film differs from the original book
September 15, 2011
I have heard that this WWII Story is Hauntingly Wonderful, high on my To See List
½ April 15, 2009
Amazingly dark and depressing, with an intriguing and memorable storyline (based on a true story as well.) One of Peter Sellers' more serious roles, which he played wonderfully. A truly underrated film.
½ September 12, 2008
this is one of those films when you have no words to say after the end of the film.
jimbotender
Super Reviewer
August 27, 2008
Haunting.Well,it can't get any worse for these chaps.A true story doesn't need to grab you from the soul,these lost workers suffer from the pathetic results of war.The film clearly shows their desperation time after time.And their imminent entrapment.
May 10, 2008
A tableau of nightmares, this deeply disturbing work of art illuminates the catastrophe buried within every act of human defiance. As desperation thickens and solidifies, to become just as oppressive as the never-yielding walls and ceilings, the few men who rage against the (literal) dying of the light face the most unimaginable future. Yet they choose to face it. In such a situation, the character of Peter Sellers - with his flour and his memories - takes the properly heroic path.
May 10, 2008
A tableau of nightmares, this deeply disturbing work of art illuminates the catastrophe buried within every act of human defiance. As desperation thickens and solidifies, to become just as oppressive as the never-yielding walls and ceilings, the few men who rage against the (literal) dying of the light face the most unimaginable future. Yet they choose to face it. In such a situation, the character of Peter Sellers - with his flour and his memories - takes the properly heroic path.
April 28, 2008
Peter Sellers, this is a film that i hope will be found by more film enthusiast and realize what a gem it is.
Page 1 of 1