La Novia Ensangrentada (The Blood Spattered Bride) (Blood Castle) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

La Novia Ensangrentada (The Blood Spattered Bride) (Blood Castle) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ April 11, 2016
This is definitely among a handful of being one of the better 70's horror films I have seen, not to mention that it is also one of favorites. Don't pay any attention to the below reviews as they just simply don't know what the hell their talking about. Even though the pacing is kinda off at some parts, overall this is a stylish, well-acted & well shot, slow-burning, creepy erotic, surreal, gothic, atmospheric masterpiece.
June 24, 2015
Far better than the lurid US title suggests, this is a horror movie for adults, and deals intelligently with themes that are rarely addressed so directly. It gets a little slow in the last third, and clearly the filmmakers weren't entirely sure how to end it all, but it's certainly worth watching.
November 23, 2014
A pale retelling of the story of Carmella, the lesbian vampire. There is lots to love about this movie; great visuals, paintings, and unfortunately, so much to dislike; illogical characters and bad acting.

Interesting imagery and lovely scenery don't save this.
January 10, 2013
Bizarre, Violent, Erotic, and Brilliant: An EuroHorror Classic--Thematically rich!!
September 27, 2012
Interesting take on the Camilla story, (which I've now seen 3 versions of), this is is terribly misogynist at first, but then it gets pro-feminist, and then gets a wee bit misogynist again. It's pretty ridicoulous, gory (especially in the beginning and the end), it's Italian, so there's a bit of animal slaughter in there, and oh yes, some truly messed up ways of thinking. It's actually all a bit of a mess, as the hero of the thing starts by being, a, yes, mysoginist asshold (ripping off his bride's dress, implying oral sex with his 15 year old niece!) but then the women get after him, and he becomes eerily sympathetic. It's all a wee bit strange.
½ April 30, 2012
Bloody good little '70s Eurotrash horror flick. Sort of a gory fairy tale of vampire lesbians. Yum.
January 7, 2012
This one is very dreamy and surreal, which kind of shoots it to the top of my favorite Euro-sleaze titles, as the Gothic mood and gorgeous visuals make for a great viewing experience for yours truly.

If you're a fan of Jean Rollin, this might be a film for you.

Worth a rental.
½ December 12, 2011
Strange, unique and beautiful horror movie.
3,5/5
½ May 11, 2011
Interesting flick up until the half way mark and it lost my attention. What i didnt get is if she was so paranoid about him, why marry him? Meh, its all trivial in the end. Watchable but you may find it a slog.
½ February 11, 2011
Pretty confusing and semi-uninteresting..
divinetrash
Super Reviewer
February 4, 2011
The pacing is so slow that any tension, suspense or intrigue you build up is quickly forgotten. There are interesting ideas and themes present throughout, but little attention is given to them and mostly it's just a confusing movie.
½ February 4, 2011
Based on Sheridan Le Fanu's Carmilla, which I have yet to read and so cannot compare, but I suspect this falls far from the original plot. Alexandra Bastedo as the lesbian vampire, Maribel Martin as the prudish bride, and Maria-Rosa Rodriguez as the creepy 12 year old all put in strong performances. The men's performances are very dated and quite forgettable... maybe it's because the women are naked a lot you remember them more but I truly do believe their talents extended beyond gratuitous nudity!
February 4, 2011
Another weak 70s Spanish horror. Weak. But odd. Awesome trailer tho.
February 4, 2011
I can get into this kind of feminist film.
½ August 17, 2010
If you like Jesus Franco's movies, you'll like this one as well. If not, you probably won't.
Super Reviewer
½ July 10, 2010
Was excited about this Tarantino pick. Stylish enough, good use of color and shadows; and the beginning has sympathy for the wife (Maribel Martin, beautiful and sexy with only mid-level cheek bones ) and a queasy fear about the husband, a macho aristocrat with a Bluebeard-like psychology. Around the middle, the movie's POV coldly drifts away from both newlyweds, as though whoever bleeds is not important, only that the spilled blood is fate. Finally, the movie loses sympathy with the woman's powerlessness in the marriage, treats female solidarity as some kind of mass psychosis, and with Polanski-like devil's humor, leaves us a thrill ending that is also a metaphysical explanation for perennial misogyny against woman. It's not an artistically brave conclusion; not creative or nuanced, it's the hack's way out.
½ May 15, 2010
Ultra-stylish Euro-sleaze film that starts off so strong just to fizzle at the finish line. Still a great piece of sexploitation horror from the early 70's!
May 5, 2010
great flick! stylish and atmospheric, yet gory and sleazy when it needs be!
April 10, 2010
i know it is totally different but the tittle reminds me a lot of Kill Bill
but w.e it looks interesant
Page 1 of 2