Bloodsucking Freaks - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bloodsucking Freaks Reviews

Page 1 of 14
½ December 3, 2018
Classic gore film. Known for its over the top violence and S&M themed guignol theater. Consider it off, off, off, off, off, off broadway.
½ February 12, 2018
One of the original "torture porn" movies. Hard to classify this one.
½ September 23, 2016
okay, now I can say I've seen it... and I never need to see it again
½ May 16, 2016
Bloodsucking Freaks is one of those films that I typically stumble into that becomes just an exploitation of disgusting moments whose only purpose is to disgust I assume. An interesting horror concept: a man puts on a show that promises torture, which the audience assumes is fake but it's actually real. Unfortunately, that's all for the story, the rest is torture for the characters...and the audience.
½ March 7, 2016
I've seen a lot of exploitation movies, but this may (surprisingly) be the most misogynistic. I'd say it has some value in that sense, being so shocking that it should be seen to be believed, but it's so one note that it's kind of boring. It's kind of like a HG Lewis movie (mostly Color Me Blood Red), but less entertaining. It hardly feels like a movie, and more of just a series of scenes of women being brutalized and tortured for 90 minutes.
July 23, 2015
This is a horribly made movie void of any artistic merit or quality filmmaking, but it's great schlocky fun nonetheless. For b-movie/exploitation film fans, this is definitely a must-watch, though most others should probably stay away.
June 18, 2015
This movie was ridiculously disturbing. I am sure viewers from this films generation would be shocked or horrified at the grotesque shows and sadistic backstage acts. But, coming from a newer time era this movie was absolutely hilarious. There was no concept, poor recording, off scale shots, and none of the actresses/actors applied any real talent. I give it a 3 star rating, for their vivid imagination attempts though. It's about the only thing that kept me interested. Plus the brain drilling was impressive.
February 3, 2015
Pink blood, plastic body parts, and naked women tortured, this is a cheap and sick slasher film (but not the sickest one) that I advise everyone to stay away from.
November 8, 2014
I would love to say how this is brilliant self satire but it's kind of not really entertaining.
½ August 4, 2014
Video Nasty that wore its 'Banned in Queensland' sticker proudly. Campy exploitation crassic, oodles of fun. (Keep cranking that handle, Ralphus.)
½ May 3, 2014
It's a cult classic that has a little something over other typical 70's exploitation... can't describe it, but it's there. The ending made it for me.
April 30, 2014
If you love senseless, over the top gore, you found your home.
½ February 28, 2014
I think when dealing with such a cinematic tableau as Blood Sucking Freaks, with its fiendish goateed midget, s & m and torture, cheekily done decapitation, dismemberment and torture, cannibalism on the verge of an outbreak of the living dead and sexual humiliation, the framing counts. All of this could very easily devolve into a Hershell Gordon Lewis debacle and be tasteless with only the freak show element to it. This is a freak show (as the title posits), but it's also, primarily, a satire on backstage dramas, complete with the melodramatic slave-driving (and in this case that's not too figurative!) director who wants to put something spectacular on stage but has to put up with the drama of putting it together. With, yknow, flailing limbs and screaming stark naked women and ravenous pieces of flesh.

I don't blame anyone who finds this reprehensible trash, but I think why I enjoyed it much as I did - and though it's obviously not laugh-a-minute stuff, there's a very healthy if completely sick sense of humor and absurdity to it all - is that the filmmaker Joel Reed recognizes Its reprehensible trash. He makes his lead "Master" (And an actor at that who is having the time of his life playing a pretentious psycho) and cohort little man the real freaks, and in a sense this is almost like an inverted version of Brownings 1932 film: a savage comedy on terrors and horrors, especially in the realm of shady show business (I mean, that IS where all those off-off Broadway actresses go to after all!)

A good deal of it is cringe worthy and hard to watch - a tooth extraction scene got to me the most - but so much of it is tongue not so much planted in cheek but sticking out the cheekbone that it's hard to take it seriously. This isn't to say there isn't some convincing gore and body parts flying about, and certainly the preponderance of naked ladies in either total buff or dominatrix get ups makes it bona fide 70s exploitation verging on sexploitation, but so much is done knowing it looks goofy and silly. And yet there's even a scene or two, like when the lead ballerina actress under the spell of the master performs and beats up the theater critic, that do have some non-too-shabby camera shots and lighting, making a delirious mood (a second rate clockwork Orange scene as per directed by an actor that is a second rate Peter Cushing why not).

Its almost no wonder then this was, I think, the first film acquired for distribution by an at the tome fledgling company called Troma in ny. Though at times perhaps more extreme than what even they put out - Kaufman admits on the DVD intro that if they were to acquire the film today they would have second thoughts - it's a ridiculous, self conscious, sometimes very smart, sometimes (no, practically always) very crude comedy of horrors (or horror of a comedy) that makes its villain a nasty but incredible presence, and some bad acting and mix of good and odd cinematography. Bottom line, it's better (or I just had more fun with it) than it had any right to be.
Francisco G.
Super Reviewer
January 20, 2014
Tries to be artsy on it's violence and the audience of this type of movies, but ends up being a misogyny orgy, where in each section women are used for all sorts of perversions the guys who made this had in mind. Pathetic. Not a single Blood Sucking Freak can be found inside as well.
December 28, 2013
If you are looking for a depressing film for the depressing holidays, may I suggest Joel M. Reed's Bloodsucking Freaks? This is seriously one sadistic grandeur art. I was interested and never bored watching the film even though it was way too much. I take it the director was going after black comedy and horror, but instead came up with a freak show. Seamus O'Brien stars as Sardu, a performer of some kind, and with a dwarf assistant, they kidnaps, mutilate, humiliate, and torture women. When he is heckled by a critic, he resolves in kidnapping him and a famous ballerina to stage his greatest work. This B-cheapie isn't quite entertaining and highly disturbing enough to fill anyone's mouth with vomit. Not that I vomit. Mr. Reed created a unique disturbing picture with a score to back it, and I give it a lot of credit for that. However, anyone that is normal will be flat out offended by this freak show and I'm going with them when it comes to the rating. I'm pretty sure Mr. Reed would feel complimented.
½ August 4, 2013
Absolutely no-one could possibly "enjoy" this film, but it's nice just knowing that it exists, that someone decided to go this far beyond the pale. Truly, properly repellent.
½ July 19, 2013
if you plan to watch "blood-sucking freaks" because you enjoyed other entries in the troma filmography (toxic avenger, class of nuke 'em high, etc.), you may be in for an unpleasant surprise. originally released as "the incredible torture show", this film courted controversy even in a toned down r-rated cut. lingering scenes of female degradation and torture coupled with cheap, sickening effects and a deranged sense of humour. definitely an endurance test for the uninitiated. while it does contain some chuckle inducing moments, don't go in thinking "blood-sucking freaks" will be the usual troma laugh riot. you've been warned...
366weirdmovies
Super Reviewer
February 17, 2013
A sadist who puts on a Grand Guignol off-off-Broadway show as a cover for his white slavery ring kidnaps a theater critic and a ballerina to design his greatest production yet; the plot is just an excuse to show naked women humiliated, tortured and killed. It's a comedy aimed at two groups: those who get aroused by seeing females gruesomely killed, and those who take pride in their capacity to laugh at human suffering.
½ February 2, 2013
The Great Sardu is planning his most extravagant performance yet for the Theatre of the Macabre, an off-off-Broadway spectacle that specializes in maiming and torturing its players, but first he must kidnap and hypnotize renown ballet dancer Natasha D'Natalie if he hopes for the show to be a success! In the twisted tradition of such gore classics as THE WIZARD OF GORE and THE FLESH AND BLOOD SHOW comes Joel M. Reed's BLOODSUCKING FREAKS, a ghoulish gross-out from start to finish. Reed serves up a delicious platter of cannibalized remains, with side dishes of indignity and poor taste. One victim has her brains sucked out through a straw, while another is disemboweled by naked cat-women who dance around with his penis in hand. The absurdity doesn't stop there, as Sardu sends his miniature assistant out to kidnap more women to sell in their white-slavery ring. Seamus O'Brien plays up the black comedy in an outrageously over-the-top performance as Master Sardu. A cult film, to be sure, BLOODSUCKING FREAKS will play well with gore crowds that revel in cheap sexploitation.

-Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
November 4, 2012
I love this movie. I love the score. I love the characters. I love the title. This whole movie is fucking insane. Nothing wrong with that at all. To me, this is the premiere movie to show people who you think maybe into weird trippy 70s gore flicks. Plus, the title is so fucking awesome. (Even though it doesn't have much to do with the story). Like most of these movies, the plot is kind of silly, but the gore is kind of awesome. If you rather watch Lord of the Rings or Forrest Gump on your sunday afternoons stay away. But if you already went through all your Freddy's, Jason's, Halloweens, etc. and are ready for an upgrade, definitely watch this. Solid concept, solid execution.
Page 1 of 14