Blow-Up - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Blow-Up Reviews

Page 2 of 3
April 26, 2004
Peter Brunette's detailed and entertaining commentary refreshingly acknowledges that, at many points, 'Things don't add up in this movie.'
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 8, 2004
The ennui stretches into the very story itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 5, 2004
Antonioni's chic study in ambiguity calls into question the notion of photographic truth, and indeed reality itself.
March 3, 2004
Relying only on our subjective perceptions and personal interpretations, we are asked to find the truth for ourselves.
Read More | Original Score: 88/100
January 30, 2004
Blowup daringly suggests that an image without politics isn't an image at all.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 28, 2004
Every generation has a cautionary tale like Blow-Up, but its hypocrisy is special: it peddles what it condemns. Just as tired and offensive today as it was in '66.
| Original Score: 2/5
May 20, 2003
This is a fascinating picture, which has something real to say about the matter of personal involvement and emotional commitment in a jazzed-up, media-hooked-in world so cluttered with synthetic stimulations that natural feelings are overwhelmed.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 29, 2002
See it for the bell bottoms and the birds, and if the existential riddle at the core of the film captures your imagination, so much the better.
Read More | Original Score: 93/100
August 21, 2002
Part brilliant, part disturbing and part pretentious codswallop.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 28, 2002
I have enough faith in my judgment to recognize a stinker.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 27, 2001
an intriguing, frustrating, compelling film-pretty much exactly what I imagine Antonioni wanted it to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
January 1, 2000
Blow-Up (1966) is director Michelangelo Antonioni's view of the world of mod fashion, and an engaging, provocative murder mystery
January 1, 2000
The very last scene poses a profound and beautiful question about movies, the art of storytelling, and Life Itself.
Full Review | Original Score: A
January 1, 2000
Michelangelo Antonioni's first English language film is as maddening to watch as it is absorbing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
The energy of the first hour dissipates just as the mystery is supposed to be deepening. But I envy you if you're seeing it for the first time -- it's still the finest motion picture to ever conclude with mimes pretending to play tennis.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 10, 2005
| Original Score: 4/5
October 24, 2004
| Original Score: 5/5
May 18, 2004
| Original Score: 4/5
February 13, 2004
| Original Score: 3/5
January 16, 2004
| Original Score: 5/5
Page 2 of 3