Blue Crush - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Blue Crush Reviews

Page 2 of 7
August 22, 2002
Blue Crush is a real Splashdance...filled with jaw-dropping photography that breathlessly drags you into the waves head first and leaves you soaked with awe.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
August 22, 2002
I guarantee that there are four separate shots throughout this movie of characters wiping out, and hitting their eye on the exact same underwater rock.
Full ReviewRead More
August 22, 2002
I weep for the future when a good portion of the respected critical community in this country consider Blue Crush to be an intelligent film about young women.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
August 22, 2002
The movie isn't nearly dumb enough to be much beach fun.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 22, 2002
Like a convenience store frozen beverage, John Stockwell's "Blue Crush" is an exhilarating cool blue rush.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 21, 2002
Blue Crush works because it takes the sport - and its practitioners - seriously.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 21, 2002
On its own limited terms, Blue Crush is a complete success -- a genuine Billabong-hit of adrenaline.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 21, 2002
I'd suggest a triple feature of Beach Party movies as a far more pleasurable %u2013 and intellectually rewarding %u2013 experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 21, 2002
On a certain base level, Blue Crush delivers what it promises, just not well enough to recommend it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 21, 2002
The body-doubling and face-pasting are unfortunately blatant.
August 20, 2002
Possesses something rare: a degree of genuine reverence in its depiction of surfing as a sport and a subculture.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 19, 2002
This formulaic surfing safari turns out to be a heartfelt tribute to the potency of grrl power.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 19, 2002
'Blue Crush' swims away with the Sleeper Movie of the Summer award.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
August 19, 2002
Despite the fact "Blue Crush's" characters are thinly written with acting as transparent as a politician's apology - I liked the film.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
August 19, 2002
This is surfing like you've never seen before!
Full Review| Original Score: 7/10
August 19, 2002
The film is lightweight but deft summer entertainment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 19, 2002
Blue Crush achieves something no other surfing movie has even attempted: it tells a good story, with a lovely screenplay and engaging characters.
Full Review| Original Score: B-
August 18, 2002
You almost feel like you have been out there on the waves.
Full Review | Original Score: B
August 18, 2002
I found a rare moment when I couldn't predict where it was headed, but John Stockwell directs at such a breezy clip and the surfing shots are so galvanizing, I didn't mind.
| Original Score: 3/4
August 18, 2002
It cuts to the core of what it actually means to face your fears, to be a girl in a world of boys, to be a boy truly in love with a girl, and to ride the big metaphorical wave that is life -- wherever it takes you.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 2 of 7