Body of War - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Body of War Reviews

Page 1 of 3
May 31, 2013
"Powerful documentary that takes a detailed look at the Iraq war and its devastation by focusing on a single casualty; Thomas Young, a 25 year old enlistee from Kansas city" whose story has been interspersed with political flag waving and Bush-isms. Thomas enlisted on Sept 13 2011 and was injured after only 1 week in Iraq, shot in the upper chest he is now paralyzed and on a plethora of drugs for his constant pain and other ongoing medical conditions. He is an active speaker against the war. Thomas' story was very interesting but I have to admit I fast-forwarded through most of the political hoopla and voting house members. I get what the filmmakers were trying to do but frankly it was boring. Excellent original music from Eddie Vedder. 05.13
May 5, 2013
Remember the immortal 23!!! A sad moment in the history of our country.
March 20, 2013
Watch this great documentary...the centerpiece, Tomas Young, nearing the end.
June 13, 2012
Everyone should watch this.
½ November 18, 2011
Not the most complex documentary, but certainly makes you recognize the day-to-day of wounded warriors. And man, if there was ever a film to make you miss Robert Byrd, this is it!
½ October 27, 2011
This documentary is very biased in the argument the Iraqi war. The liberal agendra provided mocks and discredits teh conservative view in the argument without even providing them with time to state their opinions fairly. The double standard for this film and most media outlets to focus and pinpoint FOX news while hypocritically beign bias themselves disgusts me. Being the unbias conservative I am......I say this film is very effective! Leading me to at times despise the remarks of conservative counterparts.
April 15, 2011
This is usually not the type of movie I watch (documentary genre), but it was suggested to me by a co-worker. The film is a poignant look at my co-worker's son (Thomas) as he learns to re-live life with his paralysis after serving in the war in Iraq. The film not only moved me emotionally but also INFORMED me about the 2002 Iraq War Resolution and the struggles of those involved in the anti-war movement.
November 11, 2010
This movie was just OK for me. It is has a clear agenda and accomplishes what they set out to prove. Parts of it were insightful and touching but I continued to feel manipulated throughout the film.
½ August 23, 2010
It could be better. The first half hour was very powerful, but then it goes down the hill.
½ July 15, 2010
Repetitive, but it gets it's point across.
February 22, 2010
Tomas Young, an Iraq War veteran paralyzed from a bullet to the spine..Tells the truths of life on medication and what its like to live in a wheelchair.. They talk about what sex is like for A Person With A Spinal Injery ..and all the things he has tryed just to have sex Again..
I cried when they had the chain of 2,000 Pics of fallen soldiers ...
It is An Eye Opener thats for sure!!!
February 11, 2010
Another good anti-war movie concerning the constitutional debacle which gave the president the right to wage war. The pacing of the movie mixed in with highlights of the vote and speeches before the vote were a nice touch. The movie gives extreme details about the type of paralysis Tomas Young is enduring and briefly uncovers the lack of appropriate medical care that he did not receive when comparing rehabilitation stories with a wounded Vietnam War veteran. It's not a terribly entertaining film, but there is a lot of raw information which is good to keep in mind less we forget that our governments will continue to lie to us to meet their own ends.
½ December 8, 2009
Powerful documentary profiling an Iraqi war veteran who was only in country for 5 days when he was hit by sniper fire and paralyzed from the chest down. Superimposed on this story is the debate in the Senate that lead up to the vote to give George Bush to power to declare war. I so wish those 23 senators that voted no could have swayed the ones who voted yes. Their words are so prophetic now that we know what a terrible price these soldiers are paying for a war that has no exit strategy.
October 25, 2009
Compelling documentary which shows the sad reality a wounded soldier's must live with.
August 18, 2009
Very moving, and at times very difficult to watch
August 6, 2009
"In no part of the Constitution is more wisdom to be found, than in the clause which confides the question of war or peace to the legislature, and not to the executive department." ~ James Madison The movie opens on that quote and features a young man named Thomas Young who was injured on his 5th day in Iraq. He comes home with a spinal-chord injury. His daily life and struggles there-in caused by the damage the war had done to his body are highlighted to emphasis why this had to happen. I'm going to quote my own favorite movie critic here on this: ""Body of War" again demonstrates that we Americans still have some bitter truths to face. Not only was 9/11 a day that will live in infamy, but our mistakes nearly every day since then have perpetuated and compounded the darkness." ~ Robert Ebert
July 15, 2009
As much as I hate to say it, this was a mediocre anti-war documentary. I've seen a handful, and this does not particularly impress. What this film does is ask us to not just look at deaths, but consider what it means to be wounded, and the permanent implications of it. This film is somewhat boring and repetitive, but parts of it including Tomas' personality does make it better. It was also interesting to see Bobby Mueller after watching Hearts and Minds not long ago.
½ May 30, 2009
Really important movie about how the war affected one young man, who enlisted on Sept. 13th. On his 5th day in Iraq, he was shot "like a fish in a barrel" while riding unprotected in the back of an open, unarmored 2-ton dump truck. The movie details his horrific physical and emotional struggles to acclimate to life with all of his limitations. A really moving film. One everybody should see.
May 3, 2009
It's kind of like a real life version of Born on the Fourth Of July. An Iraqi war veteran comes back after he's paralyzed and becomes an anti-war activist. Meanwhile we get many clips from 2002 from Bush and others trying to convince the American public to invade Iraq. It's one side of the story I suppose and there's no holds barred in the life of this disabled man. Everything is there for us to see including a scene where Mom puts in his catheter. There's little mention of the Iraqi civilians but I don't think that's a political motivation. I think this is supposed to show one particular side of the consequences of the war in Iraq.
January 18, 2009
Completely compelling.
Page 1 of 3