Bogus - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bogus Reviews

Page 1 of 9
½ May 25, 2015
Far too "twee" to grasp any possible relevance to a story about a child's survival skills.
May 1, 2015
It got a little weird at times and is not very memorable, but it's a decent family movie. Gérard Depardieu was an odd choice for the title role. (First and only viewing - 2/17/2015)
June 27, 2014
Way to long and completely uninteresting
April 27, 2014
Albert Franklin (Haley Joel Osment) is the son of stage magician Lorraine Franklin, and has learned to do a few magic tricks of his own. However, when his mother dies and he is sent to live with his aunt Harriet (Whoopi Goldberg), it becomes clear that for him the boundary between stage magic and the real kind is just a bit fuzzy. This movie was strange but for some reason this movie was not terrible as I thought it will be.
December 7, 2012
Will have to watch this one. Not necassarily good or bad. Will see. Want to watch!
November 19, 2012
Very cute movie. I still watch it whenever it comes on.
August 26, 2012
watched because i was curious what whoopi could do in terms of acting. There was maybe 1-2 good lines and the rest was just a pain to sit through. Don't watch.
August 2, 2012
Don't be fooled by the title, Bogus is the real thing: a magical, enchanting tale about our need for love- both real or imagined. It's a rare treat for those who value the power of imagination.
Harriet Franklin- a humorless woman struggling to keep a hotel/restaurant supply company afloat in New Jersey- finds her life even more stressful when she learns that she has been named guardian to the young son of her recently deceased foster sister.
A woman "without a motherly bone in her body", Harriet reluctantly accepts the responsibility, but try as she might, is operating without any guidelines. It doesn't help that she hardly speaks the same language as her young charge, Albert.
His is a nine-year old's world of magicians, lounge entertainers and chorus girls. Raised backstage of Las Vegas' showrooms, Albert has little understanding or affection for the streets of Newark.
Bitter over his mother's death, disappointed by his inability to stay with his extended stage family, and alienated in his new surroundings, Albert seeks comfort in the companionship of his new found friend Bogus- a six foot plus, mop-topped, Frenchman who is invisible to all but the boy.
After an economical set-up, the story settles into a prolonged cycle of hit-and -miss attempts by both sides of this new "family" to reach a common ground. Albert compares all of Harriet's efforts against those of his devoted mother. At times, he deliberately goes out of his way to be defiant.
On the other side, Harriet struggles to sacrifice of herself, determined to spend her extra time expanding her business interests. More importantly, it soon becomes crystal clear that Harriet is severely uncomfortable with the concept of childhood- both Alberts', as well as her own abandoned past.
Events finally climax when Albert runs off to rejoin old acquaintances with disappointing results.
Whoopi Goldberg is solid as the serious-minded Harriet. With a mixture of concern and confusion (fueled by the desire to do the right thing), Harriets' is a challenging role. Despite her cynical comments and comedic grumblings, hers is a sympathetic character to anyone who has ever found themselves in uncharted parenting territory.
Asked to alternate between adorable and infuriating, carefree and desperate, Haley Joel Osment proves himself a talented young actor. His Albert is appropriately natural and precocious, save for a few directorial choices which come off as overly dramatic.
Less challenging, but more rewarding is the title role, perfectly filled by Gerard Depardieu- who has always seemed characteristic of an oversized teddy bear. Playful, yet wise, this perfect child's companion is compared within the story to the mythical white rabbit Harvey. Like the invisible pooka, Bogus is both advisor, confidant and sounding board; and every bit as real as the child within each of us will allow him to be.
It's a tribute to the writers and the filmmakers that Bogus made it to the screen at all. Having become a cultural buzz word, the "inner child" is often the tool of choice for satirical criticism. It's a wonder that the sensitivities of the script held any appeal to today's corporate Hollywood.
Fortunately, it did, and director Norman Jewison has constructed many moving scenes throughout in testimony to its strengths.
Despite the PG rating, Bogus is more geared toward an adult audience, with plotting too slow and uneventful for most young children. Not surprisingly, we had to clear the summer staple of shoot-em-up action pictures to find a gentler film of this type.
April 28, 2012
A lovely, sad story of a boy who loses his mum and has to live with his godmother. He gets an imaginary friend who helps him thru his troubles. Staring the boy from 6th sense, he's so cute
March 4, 2012
A simple and heart felt film which i've always enjoyed! A little gem that will make you go "aww!"
February 27, 2012
great film. i totally loved it ^^
November 1, 2011
I like this movies is nice
½ September 16, 2011
the whole plot about friendship, that's what i like so much about it when i was a child
August 9, 2011
What do you get if you put Whoopi Goldberg, Gerard Depardieu, and Haley Joel Osment together? ....MAGIC....Actually a very fine uplifting movie...
April 16, 2011
A harmless little comedy flick which is entertaining while it lasts.
½ November 17, 2010
xD Sessão da Tarde e imaginary friends feelings.
Super Reviewer
June 6, 2010
It was a cute movie. Probably not something I'd watch over and over, but I liked it!
March 2, 2010
Strangest movie that I ever did see...Gives whole new meaning to invisible friends
January 3, 2010
Not a bad movie, it actually surprised me at how good it really was.
December 16, 2009
this film is really good
Page 1 of 9