Bohemian Rhapsody - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bohemian Rhapsody Reviews

Page 1 of 18
February 14, 2019
What follows is a story that any passing Queen fan already knows, and the problem arises in that the script never delves deep enough to escape what is essentially a Wikipedia entry.
Full Review | Original Score: 3
February 6, 2019
Joyful and occasionally moving.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 5, 2019
I can't say I'm going to go buy Queen albums, but I'll gladly see this film again.
February 2, 2019
If you love rock and roll. If you love Freddie Mercury. If you love Queen. You are going to lose your mind over Bohemian Rhapsody!!!
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
February 1, 2019
Proves to be an entertaining if not shallow deep biopic on legendary Queen front man Freddie Mercury, portrayed by Rami Malek with passion and vigour.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 31, 2019
Strong acting from Rami Malek and others can't hide the film's substantial plot flaws.
January 29, 2019
A heartfelt, family drama that is no different than any other biopic you've already seen. As with other biopic films about musicians, the music will be a plus for fans of Queen, or a nice introduction for new listeners.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
January 27, 2019
A greatest hits movie. It's the neat, easily digestible version of Queen's career, and of Mercury's professional and personal ups and downs along with them.
January 10, 2019
Probably 'A Star is Born' will collect more awards, but as far as memorable music and great musical performances, nothing I've seen this year comes close to 'Bohemian Rhapsody.'
Full Review | Original Score: B+
January 10, 2019
Without a doubt, Rami Malek's portrayal of the troubled rock star should earn him an Academy Award nomination...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 8, 2019
Bohemian Rhapsody is one of those films that will either make you ecstatic or thoroughly annoyed. For me it's a joy. Yet I do get the annoyance.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
December 21, 2018
This one is an all-around crowd pleaser made for fans that, much like Mercury himself, succeeds despite its flaws.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 21, 2018
The film's approach may not be especially deep, but it's undeniably entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 19, 2018
A heartfelt, family drama that is no different than any other biopic you've already seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
December 14, 2018
A biopicture that is all about the music of Queen and lead singer Freddie Mercury.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 8, 2018
Rami Malek's portrayal of Mercury should garner well-deserved awards acclaim. Undoubtedly, it was one of the most enjoyable biopics I've ever watched.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.0/10
December 7, 2018
Malek's portrayal is not an impersonation, but an electric homage to a man who he knew never could, or should, be duplicated.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5
December 5, 2018
Bohemian Rhapsody isn't the great movie it might have been. It's too sanitized, too safe. But thanks to an incredible lead performance from Malek ... it's still a pretty good time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 30, 2018
While it was great seeing how the band got together and how the iconic songs were made, the film felt rushed and too convenient in the way it all fell into place.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 26, 2018
One of the most frustrating movies I have seen in years, Rhapsody seems bound and determined to trip over its own feet at every turn. And yet, the music and one good-if-not-great performance keep it upright, though just barely.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 1 of 18