The Boost - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Boost Reviews

Page 2 of 2
½ April 18, 2008
James Woods can't save this predictable film.
March 18, 2008
How cocaine can destory any career.
February 29, 2008
Overlooked film... but isn't it that the story most of the time with intelligent film? Sean Young and James Woods will scare the shit out of you and make you think twice on how easy and gradual loss of self can take over. It's a shame James Woods is doing the TV series Shark... he's selling himself short.
January 17, 2008
JAMES WOODS! I understand Sonic Youth's obsession with this movie now. Over-the-top to match even "Corvette Summer." James Woods made me feel awkward. Really awkward.
½ January 2, 2008
This was James Woods in one of his better roles. He realistically transforms from a wide-eyed idealist into a coke fiend as his life falls apart around him. Sean Young was pretty good at being his wife who gets torn down with him. This movie probably was the true story for many yuppies in the 80s, and it was portrayed well. A good movie to add to the drug genre.
½ December 20, 2007
all plot holes and random dialogue aside...the best performance I have ever seen from James Woods
November 26, 2007
Cocaine DON'T DO IT is the message of this film. What I really like is to watch Woods become slowly unhinged, the tension mounts as he just seems about to crack at any moment. Simple story 'upwardly mobile man discovers coke and then it goes pear shaped but it's woods himself that makes this worth watching. Great actor.
November 18, 2007
James Woods at his best in his younger days.Watch what happens when Woods gets a taste of the yuppie life...then he hits the cocaine like it was the "allem in his kebab!" If you ain't addicted to cocaine, you just might be after watching this one.
*This film is old and might not be available anymore.
½ November 13, 2007
The drug movie genre has seen a major explosion in recent years. The Boost is one of the originals, standing alongside Drugstore Cowboy as one of the most telling, searing, and honest portrayals of how drugs can rip a family and a man apart.
October 3, 2007
lolll this whole thing is just ridiculously funny
July 23, 2007
WELCOME TO THE EIGHTIES
½ July 8, 2007
80s flick... sentimental love story.
April 16, 2007
While both James Woods and Sean Young both give solid performances, unfortunately the film itslef is a very unsatisfying anti-drug drama that has a cliched plot and at times it becomes very melodramatic which takes you out of the film.
March 15, 2007
Cocaine is a hell of a drug!!!
½ March 12, 2007
Great plot but I think much more could have really saved this movie.
August 10, 2006
Unsettling. In the right movie, James Woods is the MAN.
yram212001
Super Reviewer
½ May 29, 2006
what a terrible "lesson" movie on drugs. so many forced scenes and hype. dont waste your time like i did.
Page 2 of 2