The Border Post (Karaula) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Border Post (Karaula) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ November 16, 2013
I must admit I expected more having read very positive reviews. The beginning of the movie is quite interesting but then it gets more and more weird and finally ends as a totally crazy mess - could be much better.
April 26, 2013
Starts off not so interesting; but turns way much better off near the end.
March 30, 2011
very entertaining up to the end, where it takes a U turn. very good film.
July 9, 2010
great movie,great direction,great cast
April 13, 2010
This movie evokes nostalgic feelings for the time of Yugoslavia, even to audiences who were born after the break up and never witnessed life in the joint country. Through great comedy, the movie paints a realistic picture of the multinational character of socialist Yugoslavia, but also gives a remarkable metaphor about the events that lead to the devastating war and separation. The acting is also remarkable, since each character is a highly trustworthy depiction of it's nationality. Also, supreme photography!
February 22, 2010
very solid co-production of ex-yugoslavian countries, set in the dusk of yugoslavian times, in 1987. and in the yugoslavian peoples army that should be defending the country against the evil spirits of nationalism. instead, army is dealing with itself. a commanding officer somewhere on the albanian border tries to get a permition to move to another barracks, anywhere near the civilization. meanwhile, he is trying to treat an STD, and during that time he claims that the albanians are about to attack. the only recruit allowed out of the post is a young doctor who falls in love with the officer's wife...
this movie has some of the real strength in political background, but what lacks is a motivation for impending doom. love story is too weak and unbelievable, and in some point takes over the movie and tears it down to just above the average.
July 19, 2009
Jedan od solidnijih domacih filmova u poslednjih 5-6 godina, naizgled humoristican, a u sustini krajnje tragican, mada bez nekog velikog povoda. Sergej Trifunovic u ulozi kakva njemu lezi, sjajni Diklic u mini-roli, dosta autenticnih snimaka brainwashinga sa nacionalne tv, par replika za pamcenje, ali sve bez nekog dubljeg smisla, bez zasto i bez kako
January 19, 2009
very well made film.

iTS not so local and gets straight to the point.
November 8, 2008
Zanimljiv film o ┼żivotu u JNA. Svi─?aju mi se likovi i njihovi karakteri. Tipi─?ni predstavnici biv┼íe Jugoslavije. Kraj je malo ─?udan i neo─?ekivan, ali u svakom slu─?aju isplati se pogledati film.
October 16, 2008
watched it again:))and again i lmao
I ja bih da karam Vesnu Zmijanac al neide
September 15, 2008
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. The unsuccessful mix of drama, war and comedy with bad acting from Toni Gojanovic and really uneccessary twists in the end of the movie. It begins like a comedy and turns into drama with annoying romantic turn and swearing, which is basically the whole humor in this really bad written and directed movie. I love movies from ex - Yugoslavian countries, but this one is a disgrace.
June 9, 2008
a speial film
May 13, 2008
malo sa zakasnjenjem sam pogledao ovaj film, korektno odradjen, sve na svom mjestu, prica je ok. moze.
March 31, 2008
An entertaining, yet thought provoking, black comedy in the best traditions of military madness. I'd definitely recommend this if you get the chance to see it. Plus, you'll pick up some fabulously rude insults.
½ March 29, 2008
Offbeat Croation comedy about a troop of soldiers stationed at a post on the Albanian border, featuring incredibly bad language
January 4, 2008
a convincing and funny Croatian film, almost unbelievable
December 25, 2007
Awesome movie with some great acting!!!
December 25, 2007
Odli─?an film. Svakako pogledati.
½ November 15, 2007
Film je koma! Najbolje dosad snimljeni film o raspadu SFRJ, a sve to na perfidan i tragikomican nacin,...
November 1, 2007
Pravi jugoslavenski film. Tko nije pogledao, puno je izgubio.
Page 1 of 2