Born Romantic - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Born Romantic Reviews

Page 2 of 3
½ May 21, 2008
Let's make a British romantic comedy. First, pluck a recognisable cast from the current crop of successful films and sit-coms. Mix them into the tangled lives and loves of a group of London based social misfits a la "This Year's Love." Add a generous helping of both the wordy 'ironic' comedy and visual gags from "Notting Hill." Simmer gently for a few months whilst a distributor is found, and serve up with a suitably mushy title. That's "Born Romantic." Except it also has salsa dancing in it. Which means it must be an entirely different type of film altogether. Hmmm.

"Born Romantic" is the traditional story of three couples destined to find love within the space of ninety minutes. It's always a good ploy to have more than one couple in these films, that way it's possible you'll find at least one to care about. It could be middle aged Craig Ferguson and Olivia Williams. Or possibly reunited teen sweethearts David Morrissey and Jane Horrocks. But, with Ferguson and Horrocks' talents slightly wasted in unusually dull roles, it's probably going to be grave tending Catherine McCormack and petty thief Jimi Mistry. The latter are helped by getting the best share of the script's comic moments, but there aren't as many as you'd hope for.

With its very familiar pace, writer and director David Kane could probably have done it all in his sleep. And if the rather drab look of the London scenery is anything to go by, he probably did. Except for the salsa dancing scenes, which give the film occasional touches of vibrance. However, it's only a matter of time before the inevitable occurs and we're subjected to the "Full Monty" scene as the men learn to dance. Different men, no stripping, but the same gag. And, like most good jokes, it was funnier the first time.

Uninspired as it is, the presence of some enjoyable moments means "Born Romantic" is certainly not the worst of films. It's just another British romantic comedy which will inevitably be marketed as the next big thing. But, then: 'The same old thing: with salsa!' isn't quite such a good tag for the poster.
May 17, 2008
Lovely movie I highly reccomend it!
April 4, 2008
One of my favorite Craig Ferguson movies.
½ March 2, 2008
If you can get through the first 20 minutes, it does pay off. This movie's a cute little comedy about finding love. Olivia Williams and David Morrissey are very good in this, but I just wish they had a little more to work with.
December 26, 2007
Refreshing to have a love story set at a salsa class. Second half a bit too neatly wrapped up, but still a favouriate.
November 24, 2007
I'm a big fan of Craig Ferguson, and this movie is just a modern feel-good thing, where nothing is simple yet also not too complicated.
½ September 19, 2007
Born Romantic is based on that hokey old premise that disparate characters are connected by one place or one person, in this case a salsa club and a taxi driver. Yet somehow it doesn't come across as pretentious; rather all the little human dramas, except perhaps the one surrounding snooty Olivia Williams, are eminently watchable and well acted. It's filled with quirks and dissections of romance which, again, somehow avoid sounding like film preaching. None of this is to say that it's perfect: with so many characters mewling around, some are bound to be spare parts, and all are denied the true focus of the film that, if they were better written, they would deserve. I was left wondering why David Kane bothered with the ensemble cast, since some are clearly more interesting than others. Also the salsa club is more an annoying interruption than a theme, and when it's ladled into the story at a final stage, it feels forced. This felt like a good final episode to a romantic TV series rather than a film, but it's still a perfectly competent Brit romantic comedy. Amusing and often offbeat, despite the smart-arse trappings.
½ September 18, 2007
Good message and a good film.
September 14, 2007
Like This Year's Love, a film about 'ordinary' people having modern relationships in London. - I love Ian Hart but his hair, or lack of it, is as compelling as his pseudo philosophical mars&venus advice or 'wisdom'.
Adrian Lester is dignified as ever, and Craig Ferguson does cheeky - just for a change. Jane Horrocks is v good and her scenes with her'ex' David Morrissey are well played. Some nice quirky ideas and dysfunctionally believable relationships and attempts at forming them, but I'd never call this a 'romantic' film. Not hugely comic either, more of a watch-in-disbelief late-at-night film, worth seeing, but not groundbreaking. The dancing is a bit annoying too - at least they don't suddenly become outrageously 'good' I suppose. The best thing in it though has to be Craig Ferguson' table... briliant!
½ September 10, 2007
Another example of a charming, witty and tear-jerky british film. Great!!!
August 11, 2007
Nice ensemble of relationships against a nicely shot London background. It gives the impression though that one cabby has all the city's fares sewn up.
August 10, 2007
a proper ace british flick! glad i stayed up to watch it
August 7, 2007
Better than some British films, but I wouldn't want to see it again.
August 7, 2007
hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii
July 23, 2007
This was okay overall. Craig was awesome as usual, though so it gets 4 stars for him.
½ July 20, 2007
it's like love actually but with much better character development. Can watch it anytime :)
½ June 15, 2007
I just love Craig Ferguson! Cute film, watch it with someone you love :)
June 7, 2007
Very Romantic...duh.
½ June 7, 2007
A fun and quirky British film based around three rocky relationships. It's a feel-good, laugh out loud, romantic movie.
June 6, 2007
Totally hilarious, very cute, definitely a feel good movie.
Page 2 of 3