Bowfinger - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bowfinger Reviews

Page 2 of 89
November 13, 2015
I've been a fan of this film since it came out on DVD in 2000. Whilst it takes a bit of time getting going, it's such an enjoyable comedy that has great warmth to it, with some really likable characters who are just trying to get a movie made.
Eddie Murphy is superb, especially as Jiff. He plays the character so sweat and warm, really demonstrating some great acting chops along the way.
Heather Graham was at her (brief) peak before she descended into terrible straight to DVD movies.
Steve Martin is the main focus and gets some great moments and jokes, but doesn't really feel quite like the heart of the film. That's more the cast around him.
Christine Baranski plays the very likeable Carol, and clearly enjoys showing off Carol's terrible acting.
And the always entertaining Terence Stamp eats up his screen time in a way not seen since Superman II.
Don't think too hard about the plot, just enjoy the ride, as well as the film within a film: Chubby Rain.
November 7, 2015
Good comedy film with likeable stars and a funny look at Hollywood filmmaking.
September 14, 2015
Det sjoveste ved denne stort set usjove komedie er, at titlen udtales "Bogfinker". Hvis du vil hyle af grin over en film af Oz med Steve Martin, så se "Dirty Rotten Scoundrels".
September 4, 2015
In "Bowfinger"," we see fine performances from its talented leads in a memorably funny comedy.
August 13, 2015
Steve Martin is one of the most underrated screenwriters of all time. All of the movies he's written ("Roxanne," "L.A. Story") just contain brilliant jokes and satire. He does for Los Angeles what Woody Allen did for New York City. His genius shines all over this brilliant sleeper that expertly skews the world of moviemaking. Eddie Murphy is funny in both of his roles, something he hasn't always managed since this movie. By all means, watch this. It's a lot of fun.
½ August 1, 2015
Bowfinger is a charming and quite funny film that expertly conveys Hollywood satire. However with a strong and one way theme, it makes it hard for the film to reach 'great' standards.
July 20, 2015
This movie is pure genius! Not only do all the actors give hilarious performances but all the jokes are clever and spot on. A surprisingly original idea and funny satire on Hollywood and how films are made. If you are ever looking for a movie to watch on a rainy day or a late summer night with a bunch of buddies, then Bowfinger is an excellent choice!
½ July 18, 2015
A really good movie! Thank you frank oz.
July 4, 2015
A fun, slapstick flick from 2 comedic stars...
½ June 18, 2015
Great movie. Bowfinger follows sort of the underdog formula, they claw and do anything to be a success and do become one, while also making a clever commentary on modern filmmaking, and has great performances from its cast, especially Martin and Murphy.
June 7, 2015
soooo much fun and so funny I highly recommend
May 22, 2015
This shows just how funny Martin and Murphy can be and boy do I miss that.
May 9, 2015
ITS THE EQUIVALENT OF A MODERN ED WOOD BIOGRAPHY BUT WITH LAUGHS. THE BEST THAT ED MURPHY OR STEVE MARTIN HAVE EVER PRODUCED. NOW FOR BOWFINGER 2 WE HAVE THE OLD CHARACTERS BACK BUT WE ARE MAKING CHUBBY RAIN 2 WITH ALL NEW ACTORS KIND OF A MEN IN BLACK 4 WITH ALL KINDS OF TWISTS AND TURNS
April 18, 2015
i was expecting this to be terribly reviewed, and i'm glad i was wrong. Bowfinger is just hilarious and nothing else.
½ January 28, 2015
Steve Martin and Eddie Murphy have great potential as a comedy team, but it is never fully realized in Bowfinger. It is an entertaining and funny movie in general, but it could have been better.
January 28, 2015
Awful Story , sometimes funny...but rarely
January 18, 2015
Terrific comedy film
January 18, 2015
Like a bridge between Ed Wood and Tropic Thunder, Bowfinger lambastes the film industry while celebrating filmmakers-even bad ones. Rent it.
Robbanflix
Super Reviewer
January 1, 2015
Two great comedy actors teams up in a very good quality movie i would say. Steve Martin and Eddie Murphy with nice perfomances with a perfect level of humor. The story follows Bobby Bowfinger ( movie producer ) in a desperately attemt to shoot a movie with a huge star only that the he must do it secretly around him.. there were actually plenty of funny scenes in this flick and a well written story. So overall this is a comedy which i enjoyed quite alot and nice to see those actors in a success.
½ December 21, 2014
A really unappreciated or even forgotten film that is freaking hilarious.
Page 2 of 89