Bowfinger - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bowfinger Reviews

Page 2 of 89
April 26, 2016
"Bowfinger" is a delightful screwball comedy where the laughs are delivered from self-awareness and wit. However, with a very thin plot and it's overall lack of unique characters and subplots, like most comedies, "Bowfinger" is a temporary experience that likely won't stay with you.
½ April 17, 2016
Goofy and fun, but will leave you feeling like you expected more from two of the biggest names in comedy.
April 14, 2016
i thought this was a funny movie
April 10, 2016
Bowfinger seems promising for its first half hour or so but goes downhill fast. Its clever premise and a few performances are notably good but the rest seems stale, odd and a little mean spirited (which tends to majorly affect the nature of the film).
Bobby Bowfinger is a failing director who hopes to cast arrogant action movie star Kit Ramsey in his latest film, one he hopes to be a blockbuster hit. When Ramsey refuses to be in the film, Bowfinger doesn't want to let his fellow actors down, hoping to secretly film Ramsey in public and let the actors perform their lines in front of him - just his reactions are enough to give him a solid character. Bowfinger also strikes gold when unknowingly casting Ramsey's nerdy younger brother as a stunt double, gaining more connections and running into more trouble as the film goes on.
Bowfinger fails to deliver on its inventive, seemingly bold and fresh story, which really matters for this film. It seems good at first mention but proves to be odd, a little confusing, and doesn't know where it's going next. It almost feels like some parts are left out before quickly going to whatever is happening next. The stressed behind the scenes mean spiritedness, for me, gave the film just that: an unenjoyable, overly rushed stressed atmosphere. I typically love Steve Martin but his performance in this wasn't as good, and his character was unlikable. Eddie Murphy delivered more than Martin, who gets a lot more screen time and even wrote the film. The "movie behind a movie" plot always seems captivating at first glance but sometimes isn't what it seems to be - Bowfinger looks great at first glance, with the poster almost even promising great chemistry between Martin and Murphy, but really disappoints.
½ March 25, 2016
This movie was so funny, excellent plot and fantastic acting!
½ November 20, 2015
Second time it's even more fun. Really good comedy for cinephile.
Also great choice for music.
November 13, 2015
I've been a fan of this film since it came out on DVD in 2000. Whilst it takes a bit of time getting going, it's such an enjoyable comedy that has great warmth to it, with some really likable characters who are just trying to get a movie made.
Eddie Murphy is superb, especially as Jiff. He plays the character so sweat and warm, really demonstrating some great acting chops along the way.
Heather Graham was at her (brief) peak before she descended into terrible straight to DVD movies.
Steve Martin is the main focus and gets some great moments and jokes, but doesn't really feel quite like the heart of the film. That's more the cast around him.
Christine Baranski plays the very likeable Carol, and clearly enjoys showing off Carol's terrible acting.
And the always entertaining Terence Stamp eats up his screen time in a way not seen since Superman II.
Don't think too hard about the plot, just enjoy the ride, as well as the film within a film: Chubby Rain.
November 7, 2015
Good comedy film with likeable stars and a funny look at Hollywood filmmaking.
September 14, 2015
Det sjoveste ved denne stort set usjove komedie er, at titlen udtales "Bogfinker". Hvis du vil hyle af grin over en film af Oz med Steve Martin, så se "Dirty Rotten Scoundrels".
September 4, 2015
In "Bowfinger"," we see fine performances from its talented leads in a memorably funny comedy.
August 13, 2015
Steve Martin is one of the most underrated screenwriters of all time. All of the movies he's written ("Roxanne," "L.A. Story") just contain brilliant jokes and satire. He does for Los Angeles what Woody Allen did for New York City. His genius shines all over this brilliant sleeper that expertly skews the world of moviemaking. Eddie Murphy is funny in both of his roles, something he hasn't always managed since this movie. By all means, watch this. It's a lot of fun.
½ August 1, 2015
Bowfinger is a charming and quite funny film that expertly conveys Hollywood satire. However with a strong and one way theme, it makes it hard for the film to reach 'great' standards.
July 20, 2015
This movie is pure genius! Not only do all the actors give hilarious performances but all the jokes are clever and spot on. A surprisingly original idea and funny satire on Hollywood and how films are made. If you are ever looking for a movie to watch on a rainy day or a late summer night with a bunch of buddies, then Bowfinger is an excellent choice!
½ July 18, 2015
A really good movie! Thank you frank oz.
July 4, 2015
A fun, slapstick flick from 2 comedic stars...
½ June 18, 2015
Great movie. Bowfinger follows sort of the underdog formula, they claw and do anything to be a success and do become one, while also making a clever commentary on modern filmmaking, and has great performances from its cast, especially Martin and Murphy.
June 7, 2015
soooo much fun and so funny I highly recommend
May 22, 2015
This shows just how funny Martin and Murphy can be and boy do I miss that.
May 9, 2015
ITS THE EQUIVALENT OF A MODERN ED WOOD BIOGRAPHY BUT WITH LAUGHS. THE BEST THAT ED MURPHY OR STEVE MARTIN HAVE EVER PRODUCED. NOW FOR BOWFINGER 2 WE HAVE THE OLD CHARACTERS BACK BUT WE ARE MAKING CHUBBY RAIN 2 WITH ALL NEW ACTORS KIND OF A MEN IN BLACK 4 WITH ALL KINDS OF TWISTS AND TURNS
April 18, 2015
i was expecting this to be terribly reviewed, and i'm glad i was wrong. Bowfinger is just hilarious and nothing else.
Page 2 of 89