Bowling for Columbine - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bowling for Columbine Reviews

December 19, 2002
All in all, Mr. Moore has given us a lot to think about in Bowling for Columbine, and he has entertained us royally in the process.
November 2, 2002
Fascinating, thought-provoking, often fitfully funny and sometimes devastatingly sad.
Read More | Original Score: A-
October 31, 2002
A worthy successor to Roger & Me.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
October 26, 2002
Bowling for Columbine would never be mistaken for even-handed, but it is at least a sincere attempt to find the source of this country's inability to curb gun violence and murder.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 26, 2002
A sweeping, sometimes insightful and often funny look at America's culture of violence.
Read More | Original Score: B
October 25, 2002
By turns hilarious, infuriating, moving, manipulative, self-serving and, most importantly, absolutely required viewing.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 25, 2002
[Moore's] better at fingering problems than finding solutions. But though he only scratches the surface, at least he provides a strong itch to explore more.
Read More | Original Score: B
October 25, 2002
There is simply no doubt that this film asks the right questions at the right time in the history of our country.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 25, 2002
At its best, which occurs often, Michael Moore's Bowling for Columbine rekindles the muckraking, soul-searching spirit of the 'Are we a sick society?' journalism of the 1960s.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 24, 2002
Even those who would like to dismiss the film outright should find much to mull and debate.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 24, 2002
We need [Moore's] noisy, cocky energy, his passion and class consciousness; we need his shticks, we need his stones.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 23, 2002
Mr. Moore aims at so many targets and tilts at so many windmills that his arguments lose persuasion.
October 18, 2002
Even Moore's detractors, should they be inclined to see the film, will admit that he takes a refreshingly nuanced view of the issue.
October 18, 2002
It explains the very fabric of American society.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 18, 2002
Watch it, argue about it, embrace it, denounce it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 18, 2002
A documentary that is both hilarious and sorrowful.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 18, 2002
It's a crazy, enthralling, sometimes hilarious mess of hypotheses, accusations, and head-scratching flights of folly, and it's there to be wrestled with.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 18, 2002
Stuffed with content that is sometimes riveting and occasionally meandering and often arguable, the documentary is a bit of a shambles -- yet an intriguing and, in light of the timid conservatism that typifies pop Americana, a valuable shambles.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 17, 2002
A lot of this is amusing and somehow telling. But what does it all add up to?
October 17, 2002
It gets my vote for the bravest, most incendiary film of the year.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
October 17, 2002
Irreverent, provocative and provoking.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
October 17, 2002
It's unnerving, stimulating, likely to provoke anger and sorrow on both political sides -- and, above all, it's extremely funny.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
October 14, 2002
[Michael Moore's] brilliant at what he does, but I don't think he's always being honest.
October 11, 2002
[Moore] gets at vital issues the way no one else seems able to.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 10, 2002
I hope the movie is widely seen and debated with appropriate ferocity and thoughtfulness.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
October 10, 2002
Anything that coaxes us into thinking about why we are the way we are, even as imperfectly as Bowling for Columbine does, is an energizing change of pace.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 8, 2002
The movie can be devastating and is often hilarious.
October 8, 2002
Regardless of how dubious its documentary tactics may be, Bowling for Columbine is powerful, thought-provoking, and, upon occasion, bitingly funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
September 30, 2002
A great documentary challenges social norms and demands reaction, and on that score Moore hits us right between the eyes.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 26, 2002
This volcanically funny and seriously scary look at America's obsession with guns is meant to shake us up good. And it does.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
June 29, 2002
Problematic yet essential, it arrives in theaters looking, if anything, even more caustic and timely than it did at its Cannes premiere.
Full Review | Original Score: 66/100
June 10, 2002
A flat-out brilliant cinematic essay on the issue of guns and violence in American society.