Boy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Boy Reviews

Page 2 of 15
August 29, 2015
It's amazing how you can dump a whole bunch of kids in a house and let them be raised by whatever comes their way.
Great picture, amazing scenery and adorable acting!.
July 30, 2015
Taika Wakiti continues to grow on me. I've been a casual Flight of the Concord fan for a while but his last two features have been fantastic. While What We Do in the Shadows balanced it's off beatness with its heart this film balances it's heart with it off beatness with equally fantastic returns. There's also some ten outta ten cinematography in this one, as well as some rather impressive acting by the main three actors considering two of them are children and the other is Taika Wakiti. Really strong four stars, will undoubtedly recommend repeatedly.
May 25, 2015
Boy keeps you emotionally involved and genuinely interested in this unique family coming of age film. Waititi and Adizes marvel at storytelling from a 80's New Zealand perspective.
½ May 21, 2015
Not as good as Waititi's Eagle vs. Shark, but similar themes regarding the pain of absent (literally and figuratively) fatherhood.
April 12, 2015
Unique, incredibly funny and worrying at the same time. One hell of a movie!
April 5, 2015
Loved the maori version of Thriller :D
½ March 31, 2015
Glad I took a chance on this one. Quirky, but not too much so. Great acting by cast members I'm not familiar with. Original, charming, stirring.......seek it out.
½ January 15, 2015
i thought i was like you,but im not.
January 11, 2015
Well, this was different.
Super Reviewer
December 29, 2014
Unconventional coming of age story that incorporates so much more than its (approximate) 90 minutes should let it, always feeling fresh and like the stakes are high as it wanders through its story... beautifully shot, too. Seek out this movie!
½ November 23, 2014
An off-kilter New Zealand "dramedy" by Taika Waititi, "Boy" is at it's heart bittersweet and brings forward many issues of family, while retaining a bizarre sense of humour that defines Waititi's work.

The story follows a young Maori boy, usually referred to just as "Boy", growing up in a poor region of New Zealand countryside, where he dreams of seeing two men - his father, and his idol Michael Jackson. When his father does finally arrive, having been released from prison, Boy begins a relationship with him, often oblivious to his father's less savoury side.

Waititi stars as Boy's father Alamein, while the cast of children led by James Rolleston and Te Aho Aho Eketone-Whitu shine in this film. The comic timing seems to be a specialty in Waititi films, and it comes to the forefront here.

It really is a sweet film, and one of the best to come out of New Zealand in recent years. I highly recommend it to any fan of comedy films.

9/10
½ November 8, 2014
This is the New Zealand 'Napoleon Dynamite' except with an actual plot/storyline. Great acting done by everyone including the goofy dad.
½ September 28, 2014
A very small town/country low budget indie film with a good story that is charming and quirky but the execution was lacking in all facets.
½ September 19, 2014
A bit of a sad story really but with so many quirky characters and an undertow of black humour it is quite an uplifting film. I've still not seen a bad film from NZ.
August 23, 2014
Almost any man father a child but not every child can be a loving son. This is a truly
beautiful film about a boy who finds reality after idealising his father but does not lose his imagination. It's also about dancing like Michael Jackson
August 13, 2014
A movie that combines serious social issues with hilarious innocence & dialogue. You'll be laughing one minute then realising, gosh it's actually a bit depressing.
½ July 12, 2014
As a New Zealander at blood and heart, it might be easier for me to fall in love with this amazing tale, but surely Boy really does have something for everybody out there to enjoy.
July 3, 2014
The Michael Juckson dunce moves are reason enough to watch.
April 17, 2014
This is a little Gem! Fun, and laughter with a bit of family drama throughout the whole movie. A great window into the imagination of a young boy.
½ March 17, 2014
Fabulous movie on all parts.
Page 2 of 15