The Brave One - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Brave One Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
April 28, 2011
Jodie Foster and thoughtful Irish international director Neil Jordan take us to places we'd probably rather avoid.
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
July 6, 2010
The Brave One can at times be a brutal, violent and harrowing portrait of an over burdened system, where thugs rule the streets and the corrupt contaminate the upper echelon of society. It is also an un-original revenge/vigilante story.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Fernando F. Croce
August 27, 2009
Deplorable urban-vengeance melodrama
Mike Scott
August 14, 2009
You know what would be brave? Making an unflinching film about a difficult-to-tackle topic and complex characters, and sticking to your message, damn the torpedoes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Tony Macklin
Fayetteville Free Weekly
February 2, 2009
The Brave One is worth seeing for the scenes between Terrence Howard and Jodie Foster.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
Top Critic
Christopher Orr
The New Republic
September 22, 2008
The Brave One is not merely the most morally repellent film of the year, but a contender for the stupidest.
Heather Huntington
September 8, 2008
They're trotting it around at all the festivals trying to distract everyone from how bad it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
May 1, 2008
[A] dopey action movie featuring the contributions of people too talented to waste their time on something this risible.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Dragan Antulov
April 10, 2008
Jordan je, koriste%u0107i svoj nesumnjivi re%u017Eijski talent, snimio film koji je istovremeno i staromodan i moderan
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
March 3, 2008
The switch is flipped so quickly by Erica that I didn't root for her vengeance, I felt sorry for her.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Brandon Fibbs
Colorado Springs Gazette
February 28, 2008
The Brave One feels like a superhero movie, charting the familiar story of an unsuspecting everywoman who discovers one day that a gun gives her special powers to right wrongs and uphold justice.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Prairie Miller
February 3, 2008
Audience identification with the movie really rests on whether you're turned off by this freestyle, really pissed off judge and jury female assassin, or else in the mood to cut this loose cannon sexy sniper some slack.
Rob Humanick
Projection Booth
January 31, 2008
If nothing else, enjoy Nicky Katt's hilariously smart-ass one-liners.
Full Review | Original Score: C
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
January 23, 2008
The movie never seems entirely plausible. Yet it makes no difference; we still get involved with it.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Brandon Judell
New York Theatre Wire
December 18, 2007
In this dreary, cockamamie Valentine to New York City haters, concocted by the father/son team of Roderick and Bruce A. Taylor--a good argument for the government sterilization of a certain family's genes--radio personality Erica Bain (Foster) is confront
Full Review
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness
December 6, 2007
Just a more superficially sober version of Death Wish.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
November 1, 2007
The profoundly discouraging ending doesn't work.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
Enrique Buchichio
Uruguay Total
October 31, 2007
Una película mediocre, sensacionalista y manipuladora filmada por un buen director.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Sean O'Connell
Charlotte Weekly
October 21, 2007
An unapologetic genre picture powered by a pair of honest performances that plucks our emotional strings and races our pulses.
| Original Score: 3/4
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
October 11, 2007
You will be rooting for her to off more bad guys, rather than understanding that she is disturbed and out of control.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 10