The Brave One - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Brave One Reviews

Page 1 of 10
April 28, 2011
Jodie Foster and thoughtful Irish international director Neil Jordan take us to places we'd probably rather avoid.
July 6, 2010
The Brave One can at times be a brutal, violent and harrowing portrait of an over burdened system, where thugs rule the streets and the corrupt contaminate the upper echelon of society. It is also an un-original revenge/vigilante story.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 2, 2009
The Brave One is worth seeing for the scenes between Terrence Howard and Jodie Foster.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
April 10, 2008
Jordan je, koriste%u0107i svoj nesumnjivi re%u017Eijski talent, snimio film koji je istovremeno i staromodan i moderan
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
February 28, 2008
The Brave One feels like a superhero movie, charting the familiar story of an unsuspecting everywoman who discovers one day that a gun gives her special powers to right wrongs and uphold justice.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
January 23, 2008
The movie never seems entirely plausible. Yet it makes no difference; we still get involved with it.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 21, 2007
An unapologetic genre picture powered by a pair of honest performances that plucks our emotional strings and races our pulses.
| Original Score: 3/4
September 30, 2007
It is tough and challenging and twists and turns in ways that are not expected or obvious or easy.
September 29, 2007
What you can't deny is Foster's expertise at mixing vulnerability with an inner rage that half excuses what she is doing.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
September 29, 2007
Foster keeps us gripped with a convincing display of steely determination and moral ambiguity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 29, 2007
It is Foster and Howard's performances that really help this movie rise above just a revenge fantasy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 28, 2007
As with all revenge movies, it simply provides its thrills by bumping off the bad guys.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 28, 2007
As you'd expect, the talented Foster and Howard clearly relish sinking their teeth into a pair of well-rounded parts, their relationship teetering between cop and suspect, and the possibility of a romance.
September 28, 2007
Led by Jodie Foster, The Brave One is an adult Hollywood thriller a notch above most vigilante movies. Powerful and provocative, it will keep you thinking long after you've left the cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 28, 2007
Foster's moments of quality drive home how shaky and inconsistent this vigilante drama is. Want something to avenge? How about the way it fails to live up to the sum of its reputable talents. Now that's criminal...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 28, 2007
It wants to be a modern Taxi Driver; it manages to be the new Falling Down, with Foster as fierce as ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 27, 2007
Foster is terrific and Jordan's direction is impressive, but the film doesn't quite succeed, due to the strain of trying to be both angry revenge thriller and emotional, thought-provoking drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 23, 2007
Kill 'em Jodie.
Full Review
September 23, 2007
Jodie Foster and Terrence Howard deliver unforgettable performances that elevate this movie to more than a revenge film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 22, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 10