The Brave One - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Brave One Reviews

Page 1 of 10
September 13, 2007
The finale is bad enough to make you wish the actress were working more often, so that the blatantly commercial stuff wasn't all she was letting us see.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
May 1, 2008
[A] dopey action movie featuring the contributions of people too talented to waste their time on something this risible.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 17, 2007
As polished as it may be on the surface, 'The Brave One' is never satisfying because the complexities of eloquent language or imagery are not present.
September 14, 2007
Is there really a difference between
Read More | Original Score: C+
August 14, 2009
You know what would be brave? Making an unflinching film about a difficult-to-tackle topic and complex characters, and sticking to your message, damn the torpedoes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 20, 2007
And that brings us the bad stuff, heretofore known as the script. The story keeps on putting Erica in harm's way, so much that you're not sure why. I mean, would a woman alone really ride on the subway at night?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 27, 2009
Deplorable urban-vengeance melodrama
September 14, 2007
It's lily-livered narrative cowardice, and I reject it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 13, 2007
The Brave One thinks it has something to say about how we live in this real world today, and it wants to say it while hoping we'll overlook one plot hole after another.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
September 22, 2008
The Brave One is not merely the most morally repellent film of the year, but a contender for the stupidest.
December 6, 2007
Just a more superficially sober version of Death Wish.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 3, 2008
The switch is flipped so quickly by Erica that I didn't root for her vengeance, I felt sorry for her.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
September 8, 2008
They're trotting it around at all the festivals trying to distract everyone from how bad it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
September 14, 2007
Thoughtful action picture? Meditation on grieving? The Brave One tries to be both but just misses its target, despite the presence of a magnetic Jodie Foster.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 13, 2007
Curtis the Dog and Erica Bain review The Brave One.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
September 13, 2007
Brave One isn't Death Wish, but there are moments where I could see Jordan giving in to that impulse.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
September 14, 2007
Even the masterful Jodie Foster can't manage to raise this sluggish vigilante yarn above other movies of its ilk.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 3, 2008
Audience identification with the movie really rests on whether you're turned off by this freestyle, really pissed off judge and jury female assassin, or else in the mood to cut this loose cannon sexy sniper some slack.
August 7, 2008
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 21, 2007
Too unpleasantly stern to be exploitation, and too bloodthirsty to be drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Page 1 of 10