Bridge of Spies Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 18, 2019
It does end in a satisfactory way and over all it isn't a terrible film, just disappointing.
April 10, 2019
The film's semi-slow pacing, lack of urgency and generally anti-climactic premise take its toll in a film that is nearly two and a half hours long.
April 30, 2018
After robots, aliens, sharks and Nazis, it appears Spielberg has finally found a subject even he cannot sentimentalise -- insurance lawyers. But that doesn't mean he won't try.
September 21, 2017
I would simply be remiss if I failed to point out the lowered stakes. The closest the film comes to acknowledging that anyone's life might truly be on the line is in the blankly understated face of Rylance's Abel.
July 14, 2016
Bridge of Spies is a bit overstuffed and full of itself, but it is competently made, a little exciting and a little funny and a little, well, little.
April 1, 2016
The importance - and the horrors - sitting behind its Cold War backdrop is illustrated in a rather lazy and stage-like manner, contrasting Spielberg's typically spot-on detail.
December 10, 2015
highly-polished garbage from almost the beginning, with no relief from its elderly ministrations all the way through to the end.
December 4, 2015
A movie that bets the house on the interplay between an all-American archetype and a reserved, fragile looking traitor who walks and sounds like a bank clerk. That's not enough in a film built on legal conversation.
November 13, 2015
How Steven Spielberg went from the king of summer thrills to the most boring director in Hollywood is a problem that's perplexed me since I pried my eyes open through Lincoln.
November 9, 2015
Even though it's an entertaining film, Spielberg and Hanks don't risk much and go for a safe bet. [Full review in Spanish]
November 4, 2015
Bridge of Spies is far from being the best Spielberg movie, but it's entertaining. [Full review in Spanish]
October 30, 2015
Somehow Steven Spielberg - once the most enthralling, populist and cinematic of all mainstream directors - has turned an exciting page in Cold War intrigue into a dry, turgid history lesson...largely boring.
October 27, 2015
...yet another late-career misfire from Spielberg...
October 22, 2015
This made me sleepy. So did "Lincoln." I want less historical drama from Spielberg and more sharks and dinosaurs.
October 22, 2015
Bridge of Spies gives you quite a bit to admire, but as a Cold War spy thriller, it has only slightly more impact than The Man from U.N.C.L.E.
October 20, 2015
[The Coen Brothers'] token irreverence might be misplaced with Spielberg who veers into a Capraesque sanctimony that stops just short of jingoism.
October 17, 2015
Spielberg misrepresents Donovan as a novice even though he participated in the Nuremberg Trials. Worse, he creates a moral equivalence between our spies and the spies of our enemies. Even if you like his POV, you will need some NoDoz.
October 16, 2015
Spies too heavily (and slackly) relies on the grand backdrop of the Cold War and the pandemic anxiety of the time.
October 16, 2015
John le Carré fans might hear naptime calling as long stretches of this 141-minute movie play out.
October 15, 2015
The Cold War. East Berlin, mortar still drying in the Wall. A U-2 spy plane, knocked from its perch in the stratosphere. KGB informants... Ethan and Joel Coen, pens poised. Steven Spielberg at the helm. How did such an explosive mix fizzle?
Page 1 of 2