Broken Sky - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Broken Sky Reviews

Page 1 of 1
January 11, 2007
I have jokingly described BROKEN SKY (EL CIELO DIVIDIDO) as the gay, Mexican version of THE BREAK-UP, although to be fair, this film at least has more sympathetic characters. ... But, at 140 minutes, [it] goes on far too long.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 23, 2006
A film dripping with melodrama and pretension.
February 5, 2007
After such a triumph with A Thousand Clouds of Peace (Mil Nubes de Paz Cercan el Cielo) the second installment in Julián Hernández's apparent "Cielo" series is a sluggish disappointment.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
September 26, 2006
Without dialogue, we don't know who the characters are, so we can't care about what they do.
September 29, 2006
I could have gone out for dinner, come back and missed little of importance.
Read More | Original Score: 0/4
April 25, 2006
The pic's torturously slow pace turns an earnest effort into a tedious aesthetic exercise.
October 18, 2006
An endurance test notable mainly for its evocative cinematography and the well-toned bodies of its young male leads.
March 1, 2007
This thing crawls over a torturous 140-minute running length, with teenage love given a dire gravitas which verges on the absurd.
September 29, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: D
February 9, 2007
It's hard to know what fetishes/obsessions/issues are at work here, but they do yield interesting moviemaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 25, 2006
Love-making in Hernández' film is not a physical act but an emotional state expressed through physical action. Certainly not multiplex fare, but definitely one of the year's best films.
September 28, 2006
Boy meets boy like youve never seen in Julián Hernándezs sex-drenched, extravagantly minimalist epic.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
September 29, 2006
I suspect the film's frank, at times glorious rendering of queer sexuality will inspire more than a few closeted youths to brave life out in the open.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 29, 2006
Hernandez's exquisite romance works on an emotional, as well as intellectual, level.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 21, 2006
[Director] Hernández's approach makes all the difference, trusting the camera to reveal the ebb and flow of emotions that sweep over all three men.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Page 1 of 1