Broken Sky - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Broken Sky Reviews

Page 1 of 6
½ June 15, 2016
a wonderful movie worked with a shortage of dialogue that tells of deep silences and works perfectly with a wonderful choreography between the actors and the camera.
½ September 1, 2013
Hernandez is one of those directors who make the same movie over and over. He's also one of those who use their own cinema language. Unique camera work and lack of dialogues. Total focus on main characters and romantic sphere of their lives which moves everything what's in the background aside and which makes the movie a theater play like and very meditative. Off camera comments could be skipped most of the time since they're there to inform about obvious and therefore make a viewer dumb but on the other hand along with baroque music they make the story more universal, something that could happened centuries ago.

What made me dislike his "Bramadero" was going to strongly into love scenes which made it all pornography to me. There is a lot of intimacy here too, the whole movie is very sensual but it's all tasteful, sophisticated and serves only as a tool to tell something more than that.
July 27, 2013
fantastic camera work and musical score
December 7, 2012
Looks interesting will try to find and watch!
½ November 7, 2012
This is not for everyone. Think 2 hour 20 minute walk through ballet without dancing. Previous reviews have explained plot and devices. It was an effective film and I couldn't turn it off, but stronger editing here and there would have gone a long way to my overall enjoyment. It was hard to finish. The film seemed aimless at times, repetitive, sometimes confusing and hypocritical (The relationship is over but it's not, repeats a few times) and oh so heavy handed. The use of physical expression instead of dialogue often conveyed mellow-dramatic cliches. I will say that performers could have gone way over the top but do a good job keeping things grounded. Some scenes felt a bit contrived like a walk through of an obvious dance piece where performers look longingly, approach, touch, turn away, turn back, turn away. In this simple story, no one get's to know the other. Characters see each other and fall in love. Such is the way of youth but I believe that the kind of profound love expressed here is established by more than a glance from across a space. The film has a lot of heart and the performances are good especially Miguel Angel Hoppe Canto who emotes really well. He's got angst and longing down pat. Scenes are lovely, compensating for lower production values. Some scenes are moving but the director seemed to need to repeat them deflating their impact. However actual it may be in life, it's eye-roll inducing when a character repeats the exact thing scene after scene. I have to say, I liked it, I liked the idea of it though it was excessive. I wanted to like it more and I would have an edited version.
October 20, 2012
Pretty weak and self indulgent film though at times beautifully photographed. If you're into young latin boys (without a lot of story line), this is your movie.
April 19, 2012
Doesn't seem interesting
April 2, 2011
Mixed reviews, but still curious.
March 26, 2011
"Broken Sky" is the breakup of an ideal gay relationship between Jonas and Gerardo in Mexico City. They meet at a University, are attracted to each other, have sex instantly, fall in love but something goes wrong. DirectorJulian Hernandez has little dialogue to explain things and relies on images and style to convey his movie. After separating, the boys discover discos and other hot male bodies before, eventually, ending up together. The movie is like a long poem in it's depiction of sex and love. Even I was misty-eyed at the rejections during reconcilation. As gay movies go, it's slow and meandering but I found it worthwhile as art.
March 20, 2011
With truly passionate scenes, a few lines during the whole film and an indecipherable ending, Hernandez's film flows sometimes sluggishly slow and some others takes you around Mexico City life, love, despair and hope through the eyes of two young boys. Those who have a hope set high for love will like it.
½ December 2, 2010
Painfully slow. Human. This nearly wordless engaging meticulously painted screenplay begged me to watch to its completion. I appreciated; the challenge the actors expressing the truth of their dialogue, and the fine brush strokes of the film maker using every last bit of "all" to convey the short lived depth of truth-youth-love, free of the confines of what screen writers only dream of conveying in words (they cannot write what I am feeling?). My soul watched and reflected on what it knows and feels. Most people will hate this film. I encourage you to watch it.
April 14, 2010
I have this interesting gay-filmdrama from
South America on DVD: wonderful.
October 29, 2009
Such an intricate film, worth every moment, every second. So poetic, emotional and a story telling unfolding not in words but in images and emotion conveys by the actors that was not only artistic but realistic to anyone who has been is a similar situation... Sensationally sad, beautiful, hurtful and touching.
August 18, 2009
i wana see full movie
½ August 17, 2009
naive, sweet, a little the history of many I know lifes!!!!
July 8, 2009
it is very poetic. it hovers between reality and unreality, dream and awake.

it is indeed very boring and quiet, almost zero dialogues like a silent film. but it is more than the silent films.

most films speak tons of dialogues and most of them are rubbish. Wordlessness speaks volumes and echoes stronger, like this film does.

the first two hours or one and a half hours are way too long and driving me nuts! the best part for me is at the end which is about 20 min or 30 min I guess.

I really love the ending of this film which has two! it's so poetic, powerful, and emotional.

I dont like the main character, Gerardo, after all. That is what I think that is the main failure of this film. I dont know if anyone agree??
April 19, 2009
Bueno diré que es una buena idea pero esta tan la actuada, la música es perversa y no por la música si no por la manera en que se utilizo, es aterradoramente larga, silenciosa hasta casi rayar en el tedio la fotografía es bien rescatable sin duda de lo mejor.

Una buena idea desperdiciado o tirada al trasto como se quiere ver.
February 28, 2009
si hubiera sido mucho mas corta llegaría puede que 4 estrellas. La escena en que Sergio y Gerardo se encuentran en los baños con el aria de fondo ha hecho que me empezara a interesar por la película.
½ February 23, 2009
bad acting, bad music, shallow story :(
December 29, 2008
excellent film, poetic and emotional love story from a very unique perspective!
Page 1 of 6