Brooklyn Castle - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Brooklyn Castle Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 1, 2012
The message is that chess can motivate working-class kids to become better students, and though that's nice to know, the movie doesn't illustrate this theme in much depth.
October 16, 2012
If the film occasionally bumps up against the limitations of its Spellbound-like template, its refusal to ignore the social issues outside of the classroom proves it's more than simply a novelty human-interest story with impressive knight moves.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
October 23, 2012
Beyond telling the touching stories of these unlikely champions, Brooklyn Castle serves to raise a battle cry for funding for after-school programs.
October 19, 2012
"Brooklyn Castle'' is an engaging tale, and the principal is wrong: These kids are much more lovable than the Yankees.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 15, 2012
Among the team's racially diverse roster, four leaders emerge; sticking doggedly to the competition-doc template, Dellamaggiore traces their parallel paths to the finals.
October 18, 2012
It pays to consider even the small details of society's greatest investment in the future: our future generations.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 1, 2012
Enlightening, inspiring and expertly crafted.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 13, 2012
Overlong. It wanders. It needs trimming. But the director never goes far wrong when she just hangs with the kids, focusing on their focus, capturing their disappointment at losses and the thrill of each victory on the chessboard.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 19, 2012
I might have preferred less of the focus on winning and losing and more on the cause, which I find strange coming from me, since I rarely am crazy about issue docs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 1, 2012
Every player knows the finality when the other player sadly turns over his king, signaling surrender. We know it even better when we do it ourselves.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 23, 2012
There is much of what you expect -- gifted kids, dedicated teacher, tense anticipation, thrilling victories. The characters are endearing and their stories are stirring.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
January 22, 2013
Full Review | Original Score: A-
November 1, 2012
I don't know diddly about chess, and I still loved it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 7, 2013
Brooklyn Castle does a superb job of celebrating the triumph while reinforcing the relentless vigilance it requires from everyone involved.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 18, 2012
Heartwarming and educational.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 18, 2012
There's an irresistible cinematic appeal to watching kids dedicate themselves to fundamentally non-kid-like practices like competitive ballroom dancing or studying etymology to ease their way in spelling bees.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 1, 2012
Great story, well-made, what's not to like?
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 15, 2012
a truly wonderful, uplifting film - because it's an emotional experience that's driven by appreciating and celebrating what these young kids can do.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 18, 2012
...a smart and emotionally satisfying documentary that also manages to show that not every American public school is a graffiti-strewn money pit.
November 22, 2012
...provides a corrective to the popular image of American schools as obsessed with sports and popularity, and it makes the strongest possible case for funding after-school activities.
Read More | Original Score: 8/10
Page 1 of 3