The Bucket List - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Bucket List Reviews

Page 2 of 1104
December 24, 2015
I surprisingly enjoyed this film. While watching it, I kind of knew where it was going to go, so nothing unexpected, and the script might be a little to mawkish, but its quite an enjoyable, still touching flick.
½ November 27, 2015
The ending is extremely emotional however the beginning and middle portions are sour and very un-intriguing.
November 1, 2015
Bien que l'histoire est touchante d'un certain point. J'ai peut-être trop vu de film et jai pe trop d'attente, mais il n'y avait rien de re-inventer, d'extraordinaire, rien qui me donne le gout de revoir ce film.... Pas pour moi.
October 29, 2015
Without the talent of the two lead actors this movie would not have garnered even one star.
½ October 25, 2015
The movie never picks up, even during the 2nd half when the characters begin checking off the bucket list, and the film in its entirety has zero heart.
October 22, 2015
Harmless and deliberately schmaltzy The Bucket List is a "bromance" movie about two dying men who meet in a hospital ward. They draw up list of things to do before they pass away and set off, around the world to discover the meaning of life. It is an easy film to watch and the two stars, Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman both play up to their usual type of character with freeman being the dependable family man and Nicholson the womanising Hell-raiser. The fact that they manage to make it watchable and bearable is a testament to their acting skills as plot wise, there really isn't much substance and Rob Reiner tries too hard and too blatantly to pull at the heart-strings to make this movie really memorable.
September 23, 2015
A sad and funny film starring two of the great masters. I could watch these guys forever. If the film doesn't make you cry then maybe your cry-er is broken. And even Sean Hayes was funny and likeable. It's not deep, just a very funny and sad and engaging study of two unlikely guys who become best friends.
½ August 14, 2015
Not the best script, but you can't beat the two venerable leads that easily. Like Sean Hayes in this role--not too over the top, as he usually is, but restrained with a dry wit.
August 8, 2015
Good, although cheesy.
July 26, 2015
Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman are great in this movie. It makes you realize where is truly important in life....those who are close to you and to live your life to the fullest. My favorite line from the movie comes from Jack Nicholson to a freaked out Morgan Freeman, as they are getting ready to skydive out of an airplane. 'You're not afraid of the jump. You're afraid your chute won't open and you will wind up at your own funeral as a Denver Omelet.
July 21, 2015
This movie was great fun! I really enjoyed it. Freeman and Nicholson make a great team! Worth seeing!
July 17, 2015
Saved by the performances of Nicholson and Freeman.

Two men (played by Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson) share a ward in hospital. Both have cancer and once they get out of hospital they decide to compile a bucket list and start ticking items off...

Despite its topic, The Bucket List is not that profound or emotional. It has its moments, but is, for the most part, light and lacking in substance.

What makes the movie bearable, even interesting, are the performances of Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson. Both play to their strengths - Nicholson the surly, powerful one, Freeman the spiritual, sensitive one - and do so very well. Their interactions add substance and humour into what was otherwise a fairly dull movie.
July 5, 2015
One of those movies that change your look on life. One of the absolute best.
½ June 30, 2015
2 great actors make a good movie. Ages 10+
June 13, 2015
Topics about death do not always have to be dead serious and deeply soul-searching intended. Sometimes, a movie like The Bucket List could have the answer!
½ June 4, 2015
The Bucket List is a cute and enjoyable movie about two different personalities going through new experiences in their final mortal moments. It is an adventure well created, although predictable and somewhat cliche, and the stars of the show; Nicholson and Freeman have great chemistry as polar opposites. It isn't Rob Reiner's greats, but it holds its own and is a sentimental watch.
May 14, 2015
Two big name Hollywood actors cant save the film from scenes of utter boringness and nonsense. The Bucket list attempts to give a heart warming story and gives a half done performance. Its ok
April 25, 2015
Jack and Morgan are excellent in their roles but the script is just awful. The story does not flow well at all.
April 21, 2015
was a good movie. teared up at the end. maybe i'm just happy i can go to sleep now.. its 4 am :| what a nice saturday night...


Edit: april 21, 2015... not sure when that review was from.

Anyway, New review:

Life is a interesting rollercoaster. We really do not know why we are here. Freeman and Nicholson manage to give us a glimpse of what it can be like, the battle between selfish (or individualized) pleasure, and intimate connection.

The movie feels genuine - and the top notch performance by the two is wonderful.

I love all the relationship dynamics at play, and it really gives a wonderful portrait of what it means to be alive.

...
It emanates a powerful reminder of the beautiful futility that is life.
½ April 8, 2015
great movie, great actors it was sad too.
Page 2 of 1104