Buffalo Soldiers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Buffalo Soldiers Reviews

Page 1 of 29
February 17, 2016
I was There! Everything was spot on EXCEPT FOR THE SCAG! THE Military Police officers were not that Incompetent! But that TANK scene was par for the course. My tour was the year 1975! Wurzburg 3rd supply+transport Battalion.
August 24, 2015
boring movie didn't care much about it
½ June 3, 2015
No longer Rivers little bro,Joaquin show the goods in this entertaining quirky dark comedy.
Super Reviewer
½ April 6, 2015
Maybe I'm the only one, but I found the satire in this film, while decent enough, to be a little outdated. This film was scheduled for released in 2001, but was delayed due the 9/11 attacks, before seeing release in 2003. Apparently, and this has carried all through to 2015, in some people's minds, saying anything negative about the military makes you an unpatriotic commie bastard. The military is above criticism and reproach. As if they were to be worshiped as gods instead of treated as, just exactly what they are, human beings who make mistakes. I can see that being the only reason this was delayed. And the funny thing is that the satire, while criticizing U.S foreign policy, isn't as particularly biting or edgy as the film believes itself to be. Dr. Strangelove, a film that is FIFTY-ONE years old, still comes across as more relevant and biting than this movie does. I don't know what it is, but it just doesn't work as well as it pretends it does. I still think the movie is good enough. It is well-written and the characters, while not particularly likable, are certainly interesting. Sometimes the most unlikable of characters make the most interesting. If you don't believe that then you clearly have never seen Arrested Development. I just found the entire film to be clumsily structured. I just think the story covers too many elements and characters that don't really come together in an overly cohesive fashion. It's not even that funny, in my honest opinion. The only thing I honestly enjoyed about the entire movie would be some of the character progression. Everything else left a lot to be desired. Maybe I was just in a crummy mood and I couldn't see the forest for the trees, so to speak. But I honestly didn't think this movie was that good. It tries and everything, but it just falls short of the mark. I would say that this is average at best and it's probably gonna be a bigger hit with others than it was with me, so there's that. Watch at your own risk I guess.
½ December 21, 2014
Great movie. Buffalo Soldiers is a smart, funny, and interesting look at the affairs of some soldiers during the Cold War. The performances from Phoenix and Glen are spot-on, Phoenix adding an unique smart-ass to his repertoire of characters.
½ August 5, 2014
I was expecting an almost historical fact based drama of US soldiers stationed in cold war Germany. What i got was another flippant 'Jarhead' style expose into the boredom that comes with modern war. Although i nearly switched off after 20 and 40 minutes, i'm glad i stuck it out. Took me a long time to warm to Joaquin phoenix character and the movie too. I got the dark humour, but It was all just that little bit too wayward for me.
½ July 9, 2014
Bored soldiers good subject for entertaining comedy... American Buffalos in German Prairies--Like Pornography for your Morals!!
February 20, 2014
Script is just bad in my opinion.
December 27, 2013
Vicious, smug, and controversial war satire was shelved but explores a criminal side of the military we only hear occasionally. This isn't father's M*A*S*H, this is a film made for a sceptical, transgressive generation. Still loose and sketchy in places though.
½ October 28, 2013
Hi. I'm a movie that tries way too hard. I'm very poorly made with hackneyed dialogue and hamfisted directing. I try to hide this by being semi-political and timely, when actually I'm more sophomoric and predictable.

Trite, you say? You betcha! I'm also way too over the top and ignore any semblance of realism. I guess I just need attention. Goddamn... I'm barely watchable.
October 25, 2013
Buffalo Soldiers is a darkly comic movie with fine performances but fails to evoke sympathy for for the anti-hero attitudes of the characters
½ July 7, 2013
Buffalo Soldiers is a decent film. It is about the criminal subculture operates among U.S. soldiers stationed in West Germany just before the fall of the Berlin wall. Joaquin Phoenix and Ed Harris give good performances. The screenplay is a little slow in places. Gregor Jordan did an alright job directing this movie. I liked this motion picture because of the drama.
½ June 14, 2013
Interesting film, although I don't really see it on a par with M*A*S*H, which was a much funnier film with a lot more to say. But this one was still entertaining, and did show th corruption in the military.
April 24, 2013
with some funny moments.. but in general quite boring movie..
½ February 22, 2013
Arrrrgggh...bland and boring
January 19, 2013
Talk about bad timing, the movie opened on September 9, 2 days before September 11, it killed all the chances this movie had if any, actually besides Joaquin's great performance, the story line is not much to write about.
November 1, 2012
Delightfully irreverent and sarcastic. I was very entertained. Joaquin is the man as usual.
October 28, 2012
I was in the army in west Germany during this time....1989-1991...although a bit outragous..well...a great movie and realistic enough.
½ October 24, 2012
Surely the funniest "American army" based film i've seen. Are they the same American heros we perceived in Saving Private Ryan?
October 5, 2012
Interesting, if somewhat listless, melodrama that gets weighed down by it's own seriousness. Top-notch production value, though, plus some quality photography makes a small indie look like a studio feature.
Page 1 of 29