Burlesque - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Burlesque Reviews

Page 2 of 250
Super Reviewer
½ November 21, 2015
I don't know what is worse, the insufferable songs or how this trashy modern musical fairy-tale is so predictable, boring and full of clichs from the first scene till the last. There is nothing original or remotely interesting in it and it isn't even bad enough to make us laugh.
October 24, 2015
While most critics complained that this movie was campy and cliched, Burlesque is actually a very good movie with great songs, colorful effects and great performances from the actors and Cher and Christina, both in terms of acting and the dance sequences. Even though it does have a cliche of misunderstanding and the sort underdog vs bully, the way they are executed is actually pretty well. Because, unlike most movies that have cliche's like that which have the characters do nothing mope in a misunderstanding cliche (a lot of romance films were pretty guilty on this, especially the american ones) and in underdog vs bully cliche, they'd have a character trying to prove itself, then prevent and brought back on the bottom by a bully and then trying to convince other characters in stuff. Here, the characters are actually doing something after having a misunderstanding and Ali, the main character, handles the film's bully character Nikki pretty well. She doesn't react like a scared little underdog who's dreaming of more and trying to make her dream come true. She just handles stuff the way she thinks is best and is always helping the others out.
Now that is what this movie should be given credit for, handeling the cliche's in away that wasn't seen so often.
And this is also one of the better recent musicals, because it feels like an actual musical vs what most nowadays musicals have as songs, which is musicalized dialogues (Frozen and Into the Woods are guilty on this one).
Also, some of the dance scenes reminded me of 2002 musical, Chicago.
So yes, great music, great singing, dance and acting performance and greatly executed cliches. And the song "You Haven't Seen the Last of Me" certainly deserved the Golden Globe award it got.

I say it's worth it, and give it a watch for yourself.
September 27, 2015
It's the best musical of the year. Christina really knows how to act and the entire cast is sublime. Cher literally steals every scene she's in and the music is wonderful. Welcome back, Babe!
September 14, 2015
If you were a teenager watching this film purely for sex appeal, you will be sorely disappointed. Burlesque is the cinematic equivalent of plastic surgery, in that it's far uglier than people tend to think it is. As the story, I don't quite know what to say about it, other than it's a terribly clichd musical plot. There really isn't much of a story because the film drowns itself in a sea of poor man's porn and terrible pop musical numbers. The characters are all horrible to watch, and that's primarily because of terribly obnoxious performances and an atrociously bad script. I also find it impossible to take any of the characters, or the setting seriously, and the film does a very poor attempt at selling its cheesy concept. The way the film presents itself is as painful to the eyes as a celebrity with too much makeup and cosmetic surgery. It's obviously trying for old-fashioned glamour in a modern context, but it fails miserably because it simply doesn't work. All in all, it's less like a film and more like a two-hour music video for Cher. Either way, this unbearably dated and extremely campy film is a waste of your precious time.
August 2, 2015
The movie seems to be amazing, I gotta watch it with my dance clothes on.
August 1, 2015
Where are you from ? It is an amazing movie with an amazing cast and 2 of the greatest voices ever! To say it is Campy, Cliched and Bad, shows a lack of knowledge, taste and the ability to see inside of a story and how the audience can walk away feeling. This is one of the best Movies ever!
July 26, 2015
I wasn't interested at first in watching this because it was to me a pop music style of Chicago without the jail of course especially since other movies in which popstars have acted in don't always come off good for example Sarah from Girls Aloud wasn't that good in St. Trinians 2 to me.

So when a friend told me to watch the film after having buying the dvd I borrowed it and I must say I was surprised by the film, it was fun to watch the music was great and the songs were amazing especially Bound to You, You Haven't Seen the Last of Me and Tough Lover which make use of Cher and Christina Aguilera's powerful vocals, so I gave this film a 5/5 review.
½ July 15, 2015
I never write reviews but I sincerely love this movie.
I'm not going to spoil it for anyone but if you want a day of plain simple fun,good thoughts and laughter,then this is a movie for you
And ???to the negative nellies!!
????
½ July 5, 2015
THIS MOVIE IS FANTASTIC
July 4, 2015
I love this movie so much. Cher and Christiana Augulira are amazing together!
½ April 25, 2015
Not quite as revealing as the name might suggest, but it's a good-natured, commercially predictable hard-times story.
April 23, 2015
WOW......WOW.....WOW.....SO SO SO SO SO BAD......MAN THIS IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH.......WARNING THIS MOVIE CONTAINS STROBE LIGHTNING EFFECTS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE......MAN THIS IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH A BAD MOVIE 2 WATCH, JUST AVOID THIS MOVIE AT ALL IT IS SUCH A BAD MOVIE 2 WATCH, JUST AVOID THIS MOVIE AT ALL COSTS IT IS THAT BAD.....JUST DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE IT IS SO AWFUL.......ITS GOT A GOOD SOUNDTRACK THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE.....BUT MAN THIS MOVIE IS SO SO SO AWFUL 2 WATCH....
April 21, 2015
... Just a so so storyline ... SAVED by Great songs and dancing!!
½ April 21, 2015
Crap, but I did sit through half of it almost without complaint. I'm not sure why.
April 19, 2015
A new guilty pleasure!
April 9, 2015
I have high hopes for this film!
April 5, 2015
A little different to what I was expecting which I think was a good thing as I'd expected some lavish production full of drag queens and bitchiness. On the contrary, it was pretty much a Christina concert, with a Cher warm up act, with a measure of dialogue for luck. It certainly didn't take long to get going as we were in the club with pretty much the second scene of the movie with Xtina immediately getting herself noticed and wanting an audition. Some of the character relations were good but these kind of petered out once Ms Aguilera landed the lead role as every other scene was a production of hers in lavish costume and typically over the top vocals. If you're a big fan of these acts then you'll love this movie, but other than one song that was reasonably catchy, the music was not that memorable. It's a typical chick flick but not even that as there's not enough off stage scenes for my liking. There's plenty of pouting, posing, and performing up to the camera's and the cast have naturally been chosen for their looks more than their acting CV. There's a typically Channing Tatum like actor who seems to be removing his top and striking sultry looks at every opportunity, and the direction this movie was taking was pretty obvious as it settled in. Not that I've seen it but I can imagine that Britney Spears' movie would be pretty similar to this in the sense that she'd be working with model guys, showcasing her vocal 'talents' and aiming the movie towards fans of their albums as opposed to the general public. To be fair, the acting could have been a lot worse, and Cher is possibly a better actress than singer now anyway due to the fact she can hardly move her face - perhaps this makes her the perfect candidate to play a part in the Mannequin series of films?! Casting aside, this wasn't the best, as it lacked variation, comedy and more importantly; a decent soundtrack.
½ March 22, 2015
Historia simple y obvia pero con excelentes musicales
March 20, 2015
love it...~?~(TM)~~~
½ March 19, 2015
good storyline. excellent cast.
Page 2 of 250