But I'm a Cheerleader - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

But I'm a Cheerleader Reviews

Page 1 of 5
March 31, 2019
[But I'm a Cheerleader looks] like John Waters directing a hybrid of Private Benjamin and Girl Interrupted
March 31, 2019
But I'm a Cheerleader is a smug little comedy that tries to mock other people's self-righteousness while ignoring its own.
March 31, 2019
Lyonne makes the most of the material and But I'm A Cheerleader is a flawed-but-fun romp.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 31, 2019
I would have preferred to know more in documentary terms about the actual reality of these terrible camps, rather than sit through this heavy-handed and oddly lenient comedy.
March 31, 2019
But I'm a Cheerleader often leans too hard on stereotypes in reaching for its laughs, but Lyonne and DuVall, who plays the tomboy Lyonne falls for, give nervy, on-target performances.
March 31, 2019
First-time feature director Jamie Babbit's pink-drenched comedy is amusing and good-natured, but necessarily thin.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 31, 2019
It's hard to decide whether this is funny, offensive, satirical or all three.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 31, 2019
Lyonne blends hyperbole and sincerity in perfect proportions.
March 31, 2019
But I'm a Cheerleader fizzles out of fresh ideas early on.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 27, 2019
As it happens, I couldn't agree more with the point of view of But I'm a Cheerleader, but I couldn't like the movie less.
March 27, 2019
But I'm a Cheerleader, tries to be outrageous and inflammatory but falls pitifully flat.
March 27, 2019
Brian Wayne Peterson's script is watered-downed John Waters -- a grotesque burlesque of a gay chick-flick.
January 26, 2019
Both stylistic subversive and defiantly upbeat-it's one of the few prominent gay films of its era with a happy ending-it's a masterpiece of LGBT cinema. I suppose the 90s just weren't ready for it.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
September 6, 2018
What makes But I'm A Cheerleader so emotionally affecting is that despite the cotton-candy exterior, the film never lets its audience forget that these are people undergoing a traumatic experience.
October 3, 2017
Director Jamie Babbit and screenwriter Brian Wayne Peterson haven't attacked their target as effectively as they might, but as mild as it may be, Cheerleader underscores the fact that gender roles are ideological in nature.
December 18, 2010
Gay love satire for mature older teens and up.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 7, 2010
Very quickly grows repetitive and groan-inducing.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 20, 2008
Babbit fouls when tugging at the heartstrings but hits home runs when the humor is at its broadest.
August 7, 2008
The result is the kind of sloppy junk that gives home movies a bad name.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
August 11, 2007
The movie blows it by (A) trading in witless stereotypes and (B) not being remotely funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 5