But I'm a Cheerleader - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

But I'm a Cheerleader Reviews

Page 1 of 5
January 1, 2000
First-time director Babbit aims to mock right-wingers' rigid views about sexuality, but the gay stereotypes here are so flaming and over-the-top that we're not quite sure whom we're supposed to laugh at.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
January 1, 2000
The chasm between what But I'm a Cheerleader wants to be and what it is, isn't large, but it is significant.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 16, 2003
Some films have all the ingredients for a cult hit and are sadly just let down by a poor script or bad directing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: C-
September 19, 2002
Will put girls off the proffession forever. An utter mess of a movie.
| Original Score: 2/5
August 11, 2007
The movie blows it by (A) trading in witless stereotypes and (B) not being remotely funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
A missed opportunity in just about every way.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
January 1, 2000
But I'm a Cheerleader plays a lot like a sitcom, only not a very funny one.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
It is just as torturous watching this film, as it probably is going through such an indoctrination program.
Full Review | Original Score: D
May 14, 2003
This cleverly-themed indie has enjoyed runaway hit status on the fest circuit, but its one-note-joke wears extremely thin over the course of 90 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 1, 2000
So campy it reflexively sends an elbow to its own ribs.
January 1, 2000
The director has brewed a farce around Lyonne's Megan that manages to squander the tomboy-in-chiffon well before it grows a heart and falls away.
January 1, 2000
Dumb, heavy-handed satire.
May 10, 2001
Such sexual hypocrisy, still thriving in America 2000, deserves the good skewering that this Cheerleader is, sadly, too limp to deliver.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 27, 2019
Brian Wayne Peterson's script is watered-downed John Waters -- a grotesque burlesque of a gay chick-flick.
March 8, 2002
A trashy, pandering camp homage to the cute quirks of homosexuality.
Full Review | Original Score: short
January 1, 2000
| Original Score: 4/10
December 15, 2003
A gallery of stereotypes insults those Ms Babbit seeks to champion or assail. Dire stuff.
October 30, 2002
It's true that But I'm A Cheerleader is something of a one-joke movie, and is also perhaps a little over-reliant on its collection of stereotypes. However, it makes up for this with its superbly game cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Page 1 of 5