Cabeza de Vaca - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cabeza de Vaca Reviews

Page 1 of 2
ElCochran90
Super Reviewer
December 31, 2012
Mesmerizingly effective and powerfully delusional, mi buen hombre Nicolás Echeverría (¡ese es mi cuate, jaja!) combines the experimental desperation of a Reygadas gem and the unstoppable madness of a Jodorowsky masterpiece. The result is invigorating, transforming the lack of script to images of colossal psychological weight. Herzog would be proud, and the performance of Juan Diego (do I perceive a religious irony in the name?) revives the historical character of the Spanish conquistador Alvar Núñez in one of his journeys of eternal oblivion and confused priorities. Extraordinary, forgotten masterpiece of Mexico's few watchable efforts of the 90s.

97/100
½ June 5, 2011
Fantastic, almost hallucinatory film on the early conquest of America. Based on the diaries of a Sevillian soldier who claimed to have developed magical healing powers from the local indigenous tribes this film charts his journey from ship treasurer to christ-like figure. If you like Jodorowky and Herzog then this is definitely a must-see.
½ April 12, 2011
Different perspectives is what cinema is made of
½ January 30, 2011
Ãa n'occupait que deux paragraphes dans mon mà (C)moire de Master 2 mais il me paraissait difficile de ne pas aller voir le film sur la catastrophique expà (C)dition de Panfilo de Narvaez, partie d'Espagne en 1527 et qui ne verra que quatre survivants sur les 600 hommes de dà (C)part.

Quelque part entre Aguirre, der Zorn Gottes et El Topo, Cabeza de Vaca transforme lune quête initiatique, transformant le conquistador en và (C)ritable shaman.

Sans tomber dans les à (C)cueils du catastrophique Blueberry de Jan Kounen, le film peine quand même un peu à retranscrire l'expà (C)rience et se contente hà (C)las d'enchainer les miracles et les scènes catharsiques sans nous laisser toutes les clefs en main. Au fond, de la même manière que lire Jodorowsky nous montre à quel point on manque une grande partie de l'information dans ses films, Cabeza de Vaca, malgrà (C) des qualità (C)s certaines, prouve que les expà (C)riences spirituelles sont hà (C)las difficiles à retranscrire au cinà (C)ma.

L'effort mà (C)rite nà (C)anmoins d'être saluà (C) et une certaine fascination ne manque pas de maintenir notre intà (C)rêt tout au long du film.
January 30, 2011
the movie sucked, very pointless, and not anything of worth
½ February 19, 2009
When is this thing going to be re-released on DVD??
Dracula787
Super Reviewer
February 7, 2009
This film chronicles the true story of Cabeza de Vaca, a Spanish explorer circa 1528 who was shipwrecked in Florida and was forced to live among the natives, where he slowly learned to respect their way of life. I?d been reading about this guy lately, and I decided to track down this fairly obscure movie at my library as it?s not available on DVD. It is a fairly gritty production, you can really just feel the suffering in the environment. The production values are competent, but not up to Hollywood standards. The acting is not great, the man playing de Vaca overacts? a lot. Still this is an interesting story, and while the movie isn?t a great work of art, it does what it sets out to do respectably well.
September 19, 2008
This was an interesting take of the conquests and at first I was hating on it, but it actually had a great message in the end. Sad.
September 3, 2008
Haunting and brutal corrective to the colonization of Mexico by the Spanish. Reminded me of everything from Aguirre, Wrath of God to Black God, White Devil to the cult classic El Topo. Immersive, scary, and quite stunning at turns.
July 8, 2008
Mi mexiana favorita. Un viajezote
½ June 25, 2008
Not long enough for such an epic film.
January 15, 2008
The real life story of Cabeza de Vaca who became stranded in Texas before the colonization of America, became a slave to the Natives until he learned to be a Shaman. He makes a new life only to see it destroyed by the civilization he disconnected from. The final image of the slaves being forced to carry the Steeple to the mission speaks volumes and is unforgettable.

(Fuck the Last Samurai)
November 24, 2007
best. spanish name. ever.
October 30, 2007
Definately a strange one, it should be watched by anyone who wishes to get an alternative view of the 'discovery of the americas'. Very good
October 27, 2007
A cinematic masterpiece -- unfortettable images, such a powerful story...and even moreso that it's based on truth. please see this movie, preferably in a dark theater, preferably in a totally open frame of mind. unforgettable experience.
September 29, 2007
As a scholar of history, this film has a special interest. Alvar Nunez's account of his travels makes for compelling reading and this adaptation of his book Naufragios, is pretty good. Cinematographically it is superfluous and the soundtrack is memorable.
September 23, 2007
tube el privilegio de hablar con el director y de analizar esa ultima escena que sella tan bien toda la historia. cualquier latinoamericano debe de ver esta pelicula, para analizar su raices
September 10, 2007
As a scholar of history, this film has a special interest. Alvar Nunez's account of his travels makes for compelling reading and this adaptation of his book Naufragios, is pretty good. Cinematographically, it is superfluous and the soundtrack is memorable.
July 16, 2007
filmada en mi tierra
Page 1 of 2